buzz forums

forums of the buzz
It is currently Mon Nov 19, 2018 1:51 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Jun 06, 2018 9:55 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 9:31 am
Posts: 472
Location: Mörkö / Groke Island
Hi.
I'm trying to use peerState in a sort of live jamming situation where i skip between snapshots using a knob on a midicontroller. What I would need is a button that can decide when to activate the new snapshots. As it is now every little spin activates the snapshots so if I want to go from snapshot nr 2 to nr 7 i have to activate nr 3,4,5,6 before i go to nr 7. It would also be easier to time the activation of the new snapshots with a button. Is this at all doable?

if there are other workarounds I'd be happy to receive them.
I guess i could make patterns in peerstate containing the different snapshots and activate them via pac's patternist but patternist is not really complete and pac hasn't been replying for years. Jeskola Live could also be used this way i suppose if the midicontrol was there.

Anyway, thanks for reading. Any suggestions appreciated!

/A


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 06, 2018 10:13 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 3:24 pm
Posts: 585
There's probably a sneaky peer way of doing it. If there is, tinga might know something.

I can't go fiddling with PeerState just now, too many other things to think about. Don't worry though, the cavalry is coming. ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 06, 2018 10:41 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 9:31 am
Posts: 472
Location: Mörkö / Groke Island
<3


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 07, 2018 5:29 am 
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 7:14 am
Posts: 254
Each snapshot corresponds to a midi key you might press instead of using a controller.

help file wrote:
The MIDI support in PeerState works as follows:

When a MIDI note is pressed, the corresponding numbered snapshot is restored and set as current. For example, a press on "Middle C" will call up snapshot number 60.
In addition, a note may be chosen (in the attributes) to act instead as a "store snapshot" key.


At first you have to right-click on peer state and enable midi channel(s). In the snapshot manager you can see, which snapshot corresponds to which midi key.

Attachment:
midi snap.jpg
midi snap.jpg [ 94.56 KiB | Viewed 904 times ]


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 07, 2018 9:37 am 
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 3:24 pm
Posts: 585
thOke wrote:
helpful information

Ha, I forgot it responds to MIDI. I've never had much need for PeerState but it's a powerful tool. :oops:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 13, 2018 8:02 am 
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 9:31 am
Posts: 472
Location: Mörkö / Groke Island
Thanks for the tip!
When I have better control over Lua/Hidmacros I will be able to navigate between open windows in a controlled way so I think this can work.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jun 20, 2018 9:20 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 9:31 am
Posts: 472
Location: Mörkö / Groke Island
Thoke, i fail to pull off the midistunt. What can I be doing wrong? I have the virtual keyboard up and running but I can't make it send signals to Peerstate.

If i would like to run three different peerstatemachines in one song I would have to use 3 virtual keyboards right?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2018 10:58 am 
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 7:14 am
Posts: 254
AndersBrontosaurus wrote:
Thoke, i fail to pull off the midistunt. What can I be doing wrong? I have the virtual keyboard up and running but I can't make it send signals to Peerstate.


Probably you lost focus of midi (you can lock a certain machine to receive midi in the upper right drop-down). To avoid this, enable midi input on the peer machines. Now all machines will receive midi on the specified channel(s).

Or you simply are in the wrong octave on your midi keyboard.
Here the peer snapshots start at C-2 = C minus 2 !!!

AndersBrontosaurus wrote:
If i would like to run three different peerstatemachines in one song I would have to use 3 virtual keyboards right?


No, simply use different snapshots for the different peer states and enable the same midi-in channel for all peer machines.
I attached an example, where the first three snaps are changing the infector sound (C-2,C#-2,D-2) and
snaps 7 and 8 (G-2,G#-2) change the sound of qsamo.

Attachment:
PeerStateMidiSnapshots.jpg
PeerStateMidiSnapshots.jpg [ 146.71 KiB | Viewed 731 times ]


Attachment:
PeerStateMidiSnapshots.zip [4.05 KiB]
Downloaded 38 times


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 29, 2018 8:56 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 9:31 am
Posts: 472
Location: Mörkö / Groke Island
Thank you for that superpedagogic explanation!
Look forward to try it out.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 17, 2018 11:32 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 9:31 am
Posts: 472
Location: Mörkö / Groke Island
Despite your pedagogic explanation I fail to pull it off.

I have set Peerstate to accept midi on all channels
i have clicked in the upper corner of the screen to pull out the virtual keyboard and set it to "Peer state" (if this matters)
I have made sure that i press the right keys on the keyboard that correspond to the saved state? ( or, i tried all of them)

what can i have missed?
I do manage to get sounds from other machines in the track like Qsamo so something works...

Also, would it be possible to send keypress on my midicontroller to the peerstae in some way, like [midikey > peerctrl> IX-split > peerstate] ?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 18, 2018 6:01 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 9:31 am
Posts: 472
Location: Mörkö / Groke Island
Have now tried everything above again +
- tried to assign note instead of CC on the midicontroller
- tried to send to Peerstate from the very reliable scalewalker.

No luck

Can someone confirm that controlling peerstate via keyboard-note works on their system so it's not a bug and only me failing?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 18, 2018 8:20 pm 

Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 5:25 pm
Posts: 391
AndersBrontosaurus wrote:
Can someone confirm that controlling peerstate via keyboard-note works on their system so it's not a bug and only me failing?

Yes, me :lol: Works perfectly, in fact not, there is something new, inertia for cool morphing seems to be dead, there is a sort of retrig, but change the snapshots works fine, maybe you forgot an important thing, you have to select the midi channel in the attributes and also in the right click menu, sometime I forget this, it seems we have to do that for buzz midi machines, GreenMilk for example.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 18, 2018 8:25 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 3:24 pm
Posts: 585
tinga wrote:
inertia for cool morphing seems to be dead

A bug? I'll have a look when I get a minute.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 18, 2018 9:57 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 9:31 am
Posts: 472
Location: Mörkö / Groke Island
tinga wrote:
maybe you forgot an important thing, you have to select the midi channel in the attributes and also in the right click menu


...What do you mean by attributes?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Nov 18, 2018 10:43 pm 

Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 5:25 pm
Posts: 391
Quote:
...What do you mean by attributes?
,
Right click on Peerstate, select "Attributes", select the midi channel (the same of course you have selected in "MIDI Input Channel", just under "Attributes").


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 

All times are UTC


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group