buzz forums

forums of the buzz
It is currently Tue Aug 20, 2019 8:51 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Mar 27, 2012 11:45 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 9:45 pm
Posts: 311
I'm not sure quite if it's my graphics card (NVIDEA GeForce 540M) but I've noticed a strange phenomenon that I really don't remember happening on my old laptop -

The distance (both X & Y) from the mouse pointer to the text box (the one that appears when you type on the Machine View) seems to change depending on the position of your pointer on the screen.

i.e. if I have the pointer right at the top-centre of the machine view space (just below the mute button) the box will appear just below the mouse pointer (where I believe it should be):

Image

However if I move the mouse further to the right and down from that position, and then start typing, the menu text is quite a distance away from the mouse pointer and is mostly offscreen:

Image

Likewise positioning the pointer to the left will start to increase distance from the menu to the cursor more and more, this time to the left -

Image

I've tried different resolutions and a variety of builds from 1440 to 1463 but the same thing happens.... Is this an intentional feature and for some reason on my machine the distance from the two things are growing by an incorrect ratio ?

Cheers,
Pete.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 28, 2012 9:20 am 
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 3:24 pm
Posts: 687
Doesn't do that here. The text box pops up centred on my mouse cursor.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 28, 2012 10:08 am 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 9:45 pm
Posts: 311
Yeah and I believe it rendered it correctly on my old machine too. So the question is - why on earth on this (pretty much completely) fresh Win7 64-bit build (though 32bit version of Buzz), is it going wonky - and just with this menu box :?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 28, 2012 10:35 am 

Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 4:06 pm
Posts: 161
Are you using "theming shit" on both installs? :ugeek:
I notice your taskbar is not usual w7


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 28, 2012 10:46 am 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 9:45 pm
Posts: 311
ags wrote:
I notice your taskbar is not usual w7

Erm, yes it is ?! No custom theming whatsoever

(I have an application dock at the bottom if that's what you mean ?)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 28, 2012 11:44 am 
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 2:59 pm
Posts: 297
Location: berlin
does it behave the same when you use a custom buzz theme. (which uses a custom quicknewmachinewindow) ?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 28, 2012 12:11 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 9:45 pm
Posts: 311
Ooh, have you got an example of one so I can try when I get home from work ?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 28, 2012 1:42 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 2:59 pm
Posts: 297
Location: berlin
seems to be related to your machine only. screen dpi maybe ?
so the theme probably wont help : viewtopic.php?f=3&t=217


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 28, 2012 10:34 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 9:45 pm
Posts: 311
Found out the source of the problem / bug - because the resolution of my screen is so high (1920 x 1080 - the recommended resolution according to my graphics card) the text is a little too small for my vision so I put the text size of my screen to 125% (Control Panel > All Control Panel Items > Display > Medium - 125%). When set at 125% I get the above display issue where the distance from the mouse pointer to text box increases depending on the XY position of the mouse, but when set at Small (100% default) it displays in the middle every time.

Was tipped off by strobotone's dpi comment which led to this place (getting the screen dpi from .net) - http://www.davidthielen.info/programmin ... _dpi_.html (the site worked a few hours ago but at the time of posting gives a 404, it may well work in a few hours again)


Last edited by mcbpete on Wed Mar 28, 2012 11:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 28, 2012 11:16 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 2:59 pm
Posts: 297
Location: berlin
glad i could help :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Apr 10, 2012 6:31 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 9:45 pm
Posts: 311
BTW Quick question to theme developers on post 1454 builds - I don't seem to be able to theme the right click menu as I could before, it just seems to ignore the xaml and just use the default one. I get no errors when running it, so think I've updated what needs updating (as in the note on 1454: "theming improvements (old themes need some changes)") and everything works including full-screen support, just not the right click menu.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 14, 2015 5:19 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 9:45 pm
Posts: 311
Aha, looks like Build 1501 has finally sorted this 3 year old bug/quirk. Nice :)


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group