buzz forums

forums of the buzz
It is currently Fri Jul 19, 2019 9:37 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Dec 30, 2011 8:21 am 

Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2011 8:17 am
Posts: 16
I tried loading up OldBuzz (directory C:/Buzz/Buzz.exe) and later on NuBuzz (directory C:/Buzz/Newbuzz/buzz.exe) and since that point Buzz doesn't open - period. I've tried reinstalling and nothing's working.

http://screensnapr.com/v/SWSnTQ.png

Image

It just sits there doing a whole lot of nothing. It's been ten minutes now.

EDIT: Fixed. Renamed the NuBuzz directory to /Newbuzz2, installed NuBuzz into /Newbuzz, and then renamed /Newbuzz2 to /Newbuzz with merging but no overwriting.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 30, 2011 9:52 am 
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 9:42 pm
Posts: 695
you could have just deleted the registry settings under

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Jeskola\


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 30, 2011 10:06 am 
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 7:14 am
Posts: 285
i don't think it's a good idea to install nubuzz into a subfolder of old buzz ...
it's actually even problematic to run them both, because they share the same registry branch.

i am running both from the same directory but have to edit some settings before i can start either old or nu buzz.exe because
overloader does not work in nubuzz, some files that belong to overloader also do not load, some machines were updated for nubuzz
and i am using two different index text files for old and nu buzz.

there are two bat files, one to start buzz00 and one to start buzz08. i'm using them to enable or disable the special files.

start buzz00.bat
Code:
copy "D:\Audio\Studios\Buzz\Buzz00.exe" "D:\Audio\Studios\Buzz\Buzz.exe"
rename "D:\Audio\Studios\Buzz\Gear\WaveEditors\KeybRoll.dxx" "KeybRoll.dll"
rename "D:\Audio\Studios\Buzz\Gear\HD ScreamWaver.dxx" "HD ScreamWaver.dll"
rename "D:\Audio\Studios\Buzz\Gear\CyanPhase Buzz Overloader.dxx" "CyanPhase Buzz Overloader.dll"
copy "D:\Audio\Studios\Buzz\Gear\index.00" "D:\Audio\Studios\Buzz\Gear\index.txt"
copy "D:\Audio\Studios\Buzz\Gear\Generators\BTDSys LiveJumpHACK 00.dll" "D:\Audio\Studios\Buzz\Gear\Generators\BTDSys LiveJumpHACK.dll"
copy "D:\Audio\Studios\Buzz\Gear\Generators\BTDSys Peer LFO 00.dll" "D:\Audio\Studios\Buzz\Gear\Generators\BTDSys Peer LFO.dll"
copy "D:\Audio\Studios\Buzz\Gear\Generators\BTDSys PeerChord 00.dll" "D:\Audio\Studios\Buzz\Gear\Generators\BTDSys PeerChord.dll"
copy "D:\Audio\Studios\Buzz\Gear\Generators\BTDSys PeerCtrl 00.dll" "D:\Audio\Studios\Buzz\Gear\Generators\BTDSys PeerCtrl.dll"
copy "D:\Audio\Studios\Buzz\Gear\Generators\BTDSys PeerState 00.dll" "D:\Audio\Studios\Buzz\Gear\Generators\BTDSys PeerState.dll"

start /ABOVENORMAL buzz.exe  "D:\Audio\Studios\Buzz\InitBmx.bmx"


Start Buzz08:

Code:
copy "D:\Audio\Studios\Buzz\Buzz08.exe" "D:\Audio\Studios\Buzz\Buzz.exe"
rename "D:\Audio\Studios\Buzz\Gear\WaveEditors\KeybRoll.dll" "KeybRoll.dxx"
rename "D:\Audio\Studios\Buzz\Gear\HD ScreamWaver.dll" "HD ScreamWaver.dxx"
rename "D:\Audio\Studios\Buzz\Gear\CyanPhase Buzz Overloader.dll" "CyanPhase Buzz Overloader.dxx"
copy "D:\Audio\Studios\Buzz\Gear\index.08" "D:\Audio\Studios\Buzz\Gear\index.txt"
copy "D:\Audio\Studios\Buzz\Gear\Generators\BTDSys LiveJumpHACK 08.dll" "D:\Audio\Studios\Buzz\Gear\Generators\BTDSys LiveJumpHACK.dll"
copy "D:\Audio\Studios\Buzz\Gear\Generators\BTDSys Peer LFO 08.dll" "D:\Audio\Studios\Buzz\Gear\Generators\BTDSys Peer LFO.dll"
copy "D:\Audio\Studios\Buzz\Gear\Generators\BTDSys PeerChord 08.dll" "D:\Audio\Studios\Buzz\Gear\Generators\BTDSys PeerChord.dll"
copy "D:\Audio\Studios\Buzz\Gear\Generators\BTDSys PeerCtrl 08.dll" "D:\Audio\Studios\Buzz\Gear\Generators\BTDSys PeerCtrl.dll"
copy "D:\Audio\Studios\Buzz\Gear\Generators\BTDSys PeerState 08.dll" "D:\Audio\Studios\Buzz\Gear\Generators\BTDSys PeerState.dll"

start /ABOVENORMAL buzz.exe


another very important thing is to kill dockstate-summary entries from HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Jeskola\Buzz before you want
to run old buzz after nu buzz. some-e made a little tool to do this easily. i can upload it for you, if you want to try this method.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2011 11:21 am 

Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 8:30 pm
Posts: 374
recently ive been using old buzz and new buzz side by side because i've been going through old projects, and i havent run into a single problem. i never do anything special.. -shrug-


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 31, 2011 11:51 am 
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 2:59 pm
Posts: 297
Location: berlin
same here. it works when all machines are up to date as far as i can tell.
i also merged the old buzz dir with the new one.
however i still use seperate old and new buzz folders which works too.

@thoke: your solution is probably the best. i got rid of Overloader and ScreamWaver stuff anyway so i only rename the old/new buzz.exe using a single batchfile when they are in the same directory.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jan 30, 2019 4:15 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 3:29 pm
Posts: 21
Location: ♉M45
I have similar problem with open old Buzz.
Normally I can use old Buzz ,until I open Buzz Build 1503
When I open Buzz (build 1503 32bit) and close,after this I would like open old Buzz,but it shows message:´´ Buzz has stopped working´´.I have to close it.
This issue I have in Windows 8.1 and in Windows 10(64bit both). I try compatibility Windows XP SP1,SP2 ,,etc. but nothing.
There is no problem in Windows 7 it´s OK.

Thank You


Last edited by temporalsounds on Thu Jan 31, 2019 4:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2019 3:14 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 3:29 pm
Posts: 21
Location: ♉M45
thOke wrote:

another very important thing is to kill dockstate-summary entries from HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Jeskola\Buzz before you want
to run old buzz after nu buzz. some-e made a little tool to do this easily. i can upload it for you, if you want to try this method.


Hi thOke,

Thank You very much for this explanation.I´would like to try this method.I have not new build Buzz in the same directory with old Buzz.
It is separate,but it´s not working.In Win10 and in Win 8.1.I´m not going to use Win10 ,it has issues to play 44.1 kHz sound.
Thank you again.
Best regards

EDIT: Fixed. Thank you very much for this explanation.I just delete something in registry,now I can run old Buzz again.Perfect!
thOke,UNZ: excellent .


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2019 5:05 am 
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 7:14 am
Posts: 285
Attachment:
BuzzRegTool.zip [161.47 KiB]
Downloaded 24 times


I am hardly running old Buzz these days, but i remember i always had to "kill dockstate-summary" with this
little tool before i could open Buzz from 2000 after using Buzz from 2008!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Feb 01, 2019 3:20 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 3:29 pm
Posts: 21
Location: ♉M45
Thank you so much for uploading.
I know ,it was time ago of this topic, so I´m very appreciate you had time to post this tool.
Best regards


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group