buzz forums

forums of the buzz
It is currently Mon Feb 17, 2020 5:04 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: 32 vs 64 bit...
PostPosted: Sat Dec 13, 2014 5:31 pm 

Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2014 2:19 pm
Posts: 20
Hi.
Have been using Buzz live on stage for some years inm advanced setups using vsti.
Now i have a new computer win 7 pro, 64 bit, 8gb ram, ssd and so on.

To get most performance live in realtime (mic input, autotune, harmonizer, 3 midikeyboards etc).
I guess I should use 64-bit but I need power and stability for hours.

What version to use?

For recording I use my 64-bit software, but for buzz?
Most plugins are 32 bit for now but I use a lot so... i need memory.

/M


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 32 vs 64 bit...
PostPosted: Sun Dec 14, 2014 1:37 pm 

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 8:55 am
Posts: 399
64 bit Buzz is still considered experimental, although some here are using it exclusively.

Polac VST can load 64 bit VSTs even in 32 bit.

I don't think 32 vs 64 has that much influence on performance.

I use Win 7 pro with 32 bit Buzz in a live performance setting. No issues at all.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 32 vs 64 bit...
PostPosted: Sun Dec 14, 2014 7:43 pm 

Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2014 2:19 pm
Posts: 20
Thanx.

Then I will use 32-bit and hope that the 8 gig will be handled by windows. I'm gonna load aprox 5 gig of samples in vsts ram.
/m


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 32 vs 64 bit...
PostPosted: Wed Dec 24, 2014 10:56 pm 

Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 9:55 am
Posts: 111
I've been running 64-bit Buzz exclusively. All of the VSTs I use are 64 bits, and 98 out of 100 times everything runs smoothly. If you're using 8 gigs of ram you should look into 64 bit buzz, as I understand it there is no point in having anything over 4 gigs if you are running at 32 bits.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 32 vs 64 bit...
PostPosted: Thu Dec 25, 2014 6:32 pm 

Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 6:54 pm
Posts: 265
I have used 64 bit buzz quite a lot and found it to be stable enough. Although it refuses to work with my delta 1010 in polac audio device not connected. Have to use wasapi all the time


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 32 vs 64 bit...
PostPosted: Thu Jan 08, 2015 1:46 pm 

Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2014 2:19 pm
Posts: 20
Hi.
Thanx. Using 32 bit for now. Setting system up now for music, got no gigs for now so I only work with homestudiorecordings now.

Are going to test the 64 bit later. I have to use Polac asio cause I need lov latency. Are using internal sound when on stage, good enough, no input, when using input i use my FW-mixer (Phomic HB) and i need maximum 4 msec latency, does not got that with wasapi.

Are using both 32 and 64 bits vst-i/vst-Efx.

/M


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group