Page 1 of 1

Redirecting saved VST's to new VST path

Posted: Fri Aug 07, 2015 4:35 am
by wauterboi
Hello! I've got a bit of a problem.

I've reorganized my VST folder so that everything is nice and tidy and in a completely different folder scheme. Instead of all .dll files being in the root VST folder, all VST's are put in separate folders named after the developers. For instance: "VST/de la Mancha/subatomic.dll" vs. "VST/subatomic.dll".

Now, the problem with this is that starting up Buzz and loading an old song file prompts an error message stating "Sorry, plugin is missing... <file path> '<VST name>'".

The obvious solution would be to right click on all offending machines and reload them with the proper VST, however all parameters are lost and this method is incredibly slow. Is there any other way to fix this?

Re: Redirecting saved VST's to new VST path

Posted: Fri Aug 07, 2015 9:52 am
by polac
Odd, it should find the plugins after your reorganizing, tested here and it works. Did you add the new vst folder in the loader preferences?

Re: Redirecting saved VST's to new VST path

Posted: Fri Aug 07, 2015 6:36 pm
by wauterboi
Yes sir!

Image
Image

Image
Image

Image

It seems like it loads a lot of plugins fine, but not those. I'm on Windows 10 btw.

EDIT: Figured it out. It's a discrepancy between x64 and x32. If a song is saved with x32 VST plugins, even if the x32 VST plugin doesn't exist, it won't fall-back to loading the x64 plugin.

Re: Redirecting saved VST's to new VST path

Posted: Sun Aug 09, 2015 10:36 am
by polac
I could open an open dialog where you can select the missing plugin by hand.

Re: Redirecting saved VST's to new VST path

Posted: Sun Aug 09, 2015 11:22 am
by polac
EDIT: Figured it out. It's a discrepancy between x64 and x32. If a song is saved with x32 VST plugins, even if the x32 VST plugin doesn't exist, it won't fall-back to loading the x64 plugin.
Yes that doesn't work yet, but I have it implemented now. It will work if the plugins share both the same unique identifier. Also the open dialog stuff for selecting by hand is implemented now.

Re: Redirecting saved VST's to new VST path

Posted: Fri Jan 03, 2020 9:56 pm
by IXix
polac wrote:
EDIT: Figured it out. It's a discrepancy between x64 and x32. If a song is saved with x32 VST plugins, even if the x32 VST plugin doesn't exist, it won't fall-back to loading the x64 plugin.
Yes that doesn't work yet, but I have it implemented now. It will work if the plugins share both the same unique identifier. Also the open dialog stuff for selecting by hand is implemented now.
Sorry for necro posting but am I correct in saying PVST should load the x64 version of a missing x32 VST automatically if the plugin ID is the same, and if not it should prompt you to locate the dll?

Loading a song saved with x32 VSTs, none of them load automatically (but that may just be the ID thing) so I locate the x64 version in the dialog that pops up. After the song has finished loading however, double-clicking the VST machines just displays the open dialog and if I then select the x64 version again it loads the plugin but with the default settings.

Setting up a new system should be a happy time but oh boy it sucks! :lol:

edit: Should say that this is in 32bit Buzz. 64bit Buzz loads the VSTs fine but then there are compatibility problems with all the native Buzz machines. :(

Re: Redirecting saved VST's to new VST path

Posted: Sat Jan 04, 2020 11:04 am
by polac
Checking the code, there might be still a bug, I'll try to fix it.

Re: Redirecting saved VST's to new VST path

Posted: Sat Jan 04, 2020 11:24 am
by polac
I think I found the bug. However no warranty that the fxb/fxp data is compatible on load. The same uniqueid is no warranty. Will update the loader package the next days after some testing.

Re: Redirecting saved VST's to new VST path

Posted: Sat Jan 04, 2020 7:02 pm
by IXix
polac wrote:I think I found the bug. However no warranty that the fxb/fxp data is compatible on load. The same uniqueid is no warranty. Will update the loader package the next days after some testing.
Thanks polac! Good point about data compatibility. Will it crash Buzz if the data is different or would the loader catch it and just crash that machine?

Re: Redirecting saved VST's to new VST path

Posted: Sat Jan 04, 2020 9:06 pm
by HerrFornit
Hey polac, when you are going into the code, if it is not to much work, could you please change the display length oft the path in plugin information (full path?)?

Many thanx !! :D
PluginInformation.jpg
PluginInformation.jpg (24.16 KiB) Viewed 662 times

Re: Redirecting saved VST's to new VST path

Posted: Sat Jan 04, 2020 9:25 pm
by polac
Thanks polac! Good point about data compatibility. Will it crash Buzz if the data is different or would the loader catch it and just crash that machine?
I'm not sure. Firstly it checks the id of the fxb/fxp, if it doesn't fit to the vst the loading is aborted. If it's a chunkbased fxb it could load wrong data, if it's parameterbased fxb it's no problem.

Re: Redirecting saved VST's to new VST path

Posted: Sun Jan 05, 2020 12:03 pm
by polac
Hey polac, when you are going into the code, if it is not to much work, could you please change the display length oft the path in plugin information (full path?)?
You still can resize the rightmost column in the topright, then scroll to the right.

Re: Redirecting saved VST's to new VST path

Posted: Sun Jan 05, 2020 12:50 pm
by IXix
polac wrote:I'm not sure. Firstly it checks the id of the fxb/fxp, if it doesn't fit to the vst the loading is aborted. If it's a chunkbased fxb it could load wrong data, if it's parameterbased fxb it's no problem.
So it probably depends on the individual VSTs. Not to worry, it's amazing it works at all! Much respect for the apparently seamless 32/64 bridging. You rok! :ugeek:

Re: Redirecting saved VST's to new VST path

Posted: Wed Jan 22, 2020 9:01 pm
by HerrFornit
polac wrote:
Hey polac, when you are going into the code, if it is not to much work, could you please change the display length oft the path in plugin information (full path?)?
You still can resize the rightmost column in the topright, then scroll to the right.
o jesus, yes ! :oops:
to simple for me :lol:
thanx!!

Re: Redirecting saved VST's to new VST path

Posted: Thu Jan 23, 2020 10:55 am
by polac
Well there could be also non-resizable list view columns, but these are resizable. :mrgreen: