buzz forums

forums of the buzz
It is currently Mon May 29, 2017 3:56 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Mac pro
PostPosted: Tue Sep 20, 2016 9:17 pm 

Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 6:54 pm
Posts: 195
Been offered a mac pro cheap. Loads of memory and xeon processors. Is there a way to to trigger 2 buzz instances at once so they are in sync. Polac midi comes to mind


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mac pro
PostPosted: Wed Sep 21, 2016 2:08 am 

Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 4:06 pm
Posts: 136
Rename the topic so someone who knows might see it
(none of us use a mac)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mac pro
PostPosted: Wed Sep 21, 2016 3:19 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 9:42 pm
Posts: 670
you can just install windows trough bootcamp. xeon should be great.
as for syncing two buzz instances, i wouldn't bother. why do you want to do this?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mac pro
PostPosted: Fri Jan 13, 2017 6:49 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 2:47 pm
Posts: 12
I just described here viewtopic.php?f=2&t=2204 how I synced two buzz instances. I even did it on a Mac - after installing windows on it ;)

The only thing you'll need is a midi connection, either physical or digital. With rtpMidi it should even be possible to sync two buzz instances over the internet, but I didn't test that.

My brother an me once used rtpMidi to change parameters: He played a midi keyboard in chile assigned to a generator in my buzz and I was sitting in germany and playing with cutoff and stuff, we had a funny time with that.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mac pro
PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2017 7:41 pm 

Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 6:54 pm
Posts: 195
It was fun doing up the mac also got a raspberry pi an old amiga a1200. It is very useful even today built to last. I love the boing sound at the start and it has it's own built in speaker sounds like a radio


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mac pro
PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2017 1:15 am 

Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 6:54 pm
Posts: 195
It was built on a very limited budget of 150 pounds total including buying the computer 50 pounds.It started and went boing but no screen failed video card replaced that I ended up with an 8 core @ 3ghz 1333 mhz 32 gb ram ebay SK. The mac pro 1.1 is built on obsolete intel server tech which is extremely cheap at the moment that will not last. You don't have to install mac os. Mac rumours forum has all the details. Cheap way to get loads of cpus and loads of ram which buzz loves in a really nice case :ugeek:

http://forums.macrumors.com/forums/mac-pro.1/


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group