buzz forums
http://forums.jeskola.net/

Can we draw automations?
http://forums.jeskola.net/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=222
Page 1 of 4

Author:  vaisnava [ Sun Jan 22, 2012 2:10 pm ]
Post subject:  Can we draw automations?

I know how to make them with hex, but I am curious if Buzz may ever grow to the point where we can draw in automations like Pan/Volume, assignable stuff, etc into the Sequence editor?

I believe Jeskola Sine Synth has something like this...

Author:  mes [ Sun Jan 22, 2012 2:43 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Can we draw automations?

agreed, this is the one thing keeping buzz from being my main host.

Author:  thOke [ Sun Jan 22, 2012 5:24 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Can we draw automations?

with pattern xp it's already possible

Image

Author:  mes [ Sun Jan 22, 2012 6:47 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Can we draw automations?

yes the ctrl+g thing is very nice, but I really wish we had some kind of modern automation with nodes you can drag, similar to the volume and pitch envelopes in the wavetable.. or what most daws and renoise have.This one feature would make the already amazing buzz the most powerful eletronic music software ever, in my opinion. I'm actually very suprised that with all the amazing and strange things people have developed for buzz that something like this hasn't been attempted ( I'm no programmer, but it seems like the code for this kind of automation would already be there in the wavetable area?)...the closest I've seen was BTDSys PeerScream, but it doesn't work with pattern xp?

Author:  vaisnava [ Sun Jan 22, 2012 9:36 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Can we draw automations?

Yes it would be nice on the sequencer... not the pattern. ;) Lines, nodes, curves, etc.

Author:  strobotone [ Sun Jan 22, 2012 11:32 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Can we draw automations?

we had a pretty evolved discussion going on on buzzchurch about it and came up with some good ideas.
i always dreamed of being able to use an automation spline mode in the vertical sequencer.
and yes, machines can display graphic content in the sequencer.

Author:  commadore65 [ Mon Jan 23, 2012 1:38 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Can we draw automations?

You are probably aware of this already however there is a dedicated machine BTD made prior to ctrl+g was added. It works in the same way, so I'm afraid you won't get envs and nodes, however you can zoom in and out, allowing for one to edit long patterns on the same screen. Here's a link if you're interested - http://btdsys.lazytrap.com/remository?f ... info&id=39

If there is command to zoom in and out of the pattern edit already in new builds this will be irrelevant, I don't know of a way on the build I'm using currently.

Author:  beuze [ Mon Jan 23, 2012 3:58 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Can we draw automations?

I regret Peer Scream for a long time, I had read that an user recommended kazuya Graph-64, but it is not the same thing. This graphic column is very good and I find that it deserves a picture (thanks thOke!) in the Buzzwiki to draw attention of those who do not like the hex too much.
With CTRL+mouse gestures (left for 0,right for 1), it is very quick for trigger machines as Sample Grid.

Author:  Evelon [ Mon Jan 23, 2012 11:03 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Can we draw automations?

PeerScream is indeed awesome (shift lmb draw line, release lmb, draw bezier). Would be nice to have it built-in somehow. Edit: or at least have an option to turn it on and off.

http://btdsys.lazytrap.com/remository?f ... info&id=39

Author:  Rakib [ Tue Jan 24, 2012 1:18 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Can we draw automations?

Anyone tried Buze?
It looks like it has a more advanced functions for automation.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=pl ... p3szpQc3I#!

Author:  bahador [ Tue Jan 24, 2012 11:03 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Can we draw automations?

In better word that would be such an incredible idea if we could have a sequence editor (horizontally) like the ones in pro-tools, logic or reason which they all share the very same basics and the automation process with dots and nodes would be available as a built in feature then.

Author:  Rakib [ Wed Jan 25, 2012 12:59 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Can we draw automations?

No, vertically. Buzz is a tracker.

If you want pianoroll, this not the software for you.

Author:  strobotone [ Wed Jan 25, 2012 7:04 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Can we draw automations?

Rakib wrote:
Anyone tried Buze?
It looks like it has a more advanced functions for automation.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=pl ... p3szpQc3I#!


yes. it got pretty good.
you can use a sequencer machine that actually acts as the actual vertical sequencer.
then you can use "graphical" automation like BUZZ´s CTRL-G in the sequencer.

btw. it is pretty much compatible with BUZZ´s native plugins due to its wrapper library.

Author:  mute [ Thu Jan 26, 2012 3:45 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Can we draw automations?

bahador wrote:
In better word that would be such an incredible idea if we could have a sequence editor (horizontally) like the ones in pro-tools, logic or reason which they all share the very same basics and the automation process with dots and nodes would be available as a built in feature then.


https://support.image-line.com/jshop/shop.php
http://www.experimentalscene.com/softwa ... ve-studio/
http://www.energy-xt.com/index.php?id=0401
https://www.ableton.com/shop/categories/full
http://www.propellerheads.se/products/r ... rade_paths
http://www.steinberg.net/en/shop.html
http://www.apple.com/mac/app-store/
http://shop.avid.com/store/product.do;? ... 7273768544
http://www.store.cakewalk.com/b2cus/Pro ... HB1.00-20E
http://studioone.presonus.com/shop/

Author:  UNZ [ Thu Jan 26, 2012 5:06 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Can we draw automations?

i'm sure we'll get envs sooner or later, it's pretty clear that everyone wants it, someone just has to do it, so just be patient....

Author:  bahador [ Thu Jan 26, 2012 10:16 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Can we draw automations?

we already have the horizontal sequencer in the pattern editor MUTE, right?

Author:  mute [ Thu Jan 26, 2012 10:48 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Can we draw automations?

Unfortunately

Author:  beuze [ Thu Jan 26, 2012 2:21 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Can we draw automations?

bahador wrote :

Quote:
In better word that would be such an incredible idea if we could have a sequence editor (horizontally) like the ones in pro-tools, logic or reason which they all share the very same basics and the automation process with dots and nodes would be available as a built in feature then.

BUZZ and the DAWs are two different worlds. You can work with Linux and Windows as dualboot ( or wine, etc...) but not simultaneously.(Although I'm very happy with the horizontal sequencer ;))
Personally I hate nodes and curves and, for me, draw the curves in the pattern editor is sufficient (and it is easy, fast and powerful).

Author:  domtron [ Thu Jan 26, 2012 4:35 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Can we draw automations?

switching to both views would be practical.

i wonder if this isn't already implemented to create them via wpf and framework.

Author:  strobotone [ Thu Jan 26, 2012 4:39 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Can we draw automations?

domtron wrote:
switching to both views would be practical.

i wonder if this isn't already implemented to create them via wpf and framework.


i am wondering myself:
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=27&p=188&hilit=horizontal#p188

Page 1 of 4 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
https://www.phpbb.com/