buzz forums

forums of the buzz
It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 5:05 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Aug 29, 2017 9:27 am 
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 7:21 pm
Posts: 273
http://www.robotplanet.dk/t2/mars2.5.rar

The last mode is new.
I also changed an if statement, and if I goofed that up, the Bass/Treble sliders may have stopped working for certain modes. Please let me know if you experience this.

PS: Remember that the treble and bass work in quite different ways depending on which mode is chosen.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 30, 2017 10:51 am 

Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 5:25 pm
Posts: 378
All seems to work for me, except for "cannon", bass parameter is inverted.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 30, 2017 3:53 pm 

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 8:55 am
Posts: 381
Oh I'll have to try this one out!! Mars is one of my favorites.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 31, 2017 8:13 am 
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 7:21 pm
Posts: 273
Does the bass slider feel like it's inverted?
I think it depends on what you send into it, but if it feels reverted to you, i'll change it.
I certainly wasn't sure which way it was supposed to go.

And thanks for testing. A few extra eyes on things is always a good thing.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Sep 02, 2017 7:57 pm 

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 8:55 am
Posts: 381
Seems all good from my side. No issues, bugs, or crashes on any of the distortion models that I could see.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 03, 2017 7:57 am 
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 7:21 pm
Posts: 273
Thanks for testing, people.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 03, 2017 1:41 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 6:03 pm
Posts: 44
Location: Helsinki, Finland
The bass slider in cannon mode is a bit weird. Seems like turning it down (as in to -127) lowers the (hard?) clip threshold instead of doing a bass cut (as in different ways in the other modes).
The treble slider works as expected.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 08, 2017 7:12 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 7:21 pm
Posts: 273
I know it's super weird. It's not an equalizer when you're in this particular mode. In a few of the other modes, the "Treble" slider also isn't a normal treble adjustment, but rather some sort of mooshyness control (very scientific term).

Maybe the sliders should be called "treble behavior" and "bass behavior", but I'm not sure that much text will fit.

What I can do is flip the direction of the slider in that specific mode as Tinga suggests, but I wanna know if there are more people who feel I should do that or not, because it depends very much on the input signal whether it feels reversed or not.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Sep 08, 2017 10:25 pm 

Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 5:25 pm
Posts: 378
If it works as it should, no problem for me, Mars is very versatile, five params and tons of sounds, I use it everytime I need a distortion. Did I missed two releases? my last was Steel pain.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Sep 09, 2017 2:48 pm 

Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2014 6:02 pm
Posts: 25
Is this new version compatible with the old one? Can I simply replace the file in the effects folder and will my old files work with it? I've been using Mars a lot to give my synths more oomph (very scientific term) and it would be a bummer if my files didn't work anymore. Or could you name this new version Joachims Mars filter 2.5.dll?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Sep 09, 2017 4:59 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 5:22 pm
Posts: 455
Location: France
Willy wrote:
Is this new version compatible with the old one? Can I simply replace the file in the effects folder and will my old files work with it? I've been using Mars a lot to give my synths more oomph (very scientific term) and it would be a bummer if my files didn't work anymore. Or could you name this new version Joachims Mars filter 2.5.dll?

Same question for me :mrgreen:

I added in this post some screen captures when I connect the new version. I have three different messages (and they appear twice when connecting your filter). Then all works fine but I cant use previous presets.

Attachment:
Mars 2 a.jpg
Mars 2 a.jpg [ 34.82 KiB | Viewed 858 times ]


Attachment:
Mars 2 b.jpg
Mars 2 b.jpg [ 230.85 KiB | Viewed 858 times ]


Attachment:
Mars 2 c.jpg
Mars 2 c.jpg [ 12.29 KiB | Viewed 858 times ]


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2017 6:42 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 7:21 pm
Posts: 273
Those preset files are very fragile. Back them up before upgrading and saving new presets. Edit them manually to change 2.4 into 2.5

New update: Different levels, "bass" slider reversed (because more people agreed it was reversed).
http://www.robotplanet.dk/t2/mars2.5.rar


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 18, 2017 4:59 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 6:03 pm
Posts: 44
Location: Helsinki, Finland
On another Mars-related topic, the battle axe mode seems a bit (no pun intended) brutal as it chops off all negative sample values, leaving the signal with a rather significant DC offset, which I imagine isn't a very "healthy" output signal (do correct me if I'm wrong here of course). Of course you can put a DC fixer after it, but having this built in would probably contribute to the DC offset being fixed "the correct way" (my technical knowhow concerning this is somewhat zero, mind you).
Here's some stats I took using the battle axe mode.


Attachments:
battleaxe.png
battleaxe.png [ 14.54 KiB | Viewed 555 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 26, 2017 2:36 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 7:21 pm
Posts: 273
Paul Eye: You're quite right it does introduce DC.

I've been unsure of whether people would want it to be mathematically correct (no DC remover) or physically correct (having a DC remover built in).

It probably wouldn't be hard to do. Does anyone else have opinions on this?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 26, 2017 3:00 pm 

Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 4:06 pm
Posts: 144
Physically correct sounds better.
Disable-able by attribute?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 26, 2017 5:41 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 6:03 pm
Posts: 44
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Joachip wrote:
It probably wouldn't be hard to do. Does anyone else have opinions on this?

As ags said, an attribute (that defaults to off/current behaviour) would probably be the best option, also for backwards compatibility.
I also found out that using your Tool machine, both the DC remover, and Sample diff. set to "Convert from" got rid of the DC offset.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 29, 2017 11:09 am 
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 7:21 pm
Posts: 273
ags wrote:
Physically correct sounds better.
Disable-able by attribute?

Done! (Please reload)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 30, 2017 3:25 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 6:03 pm
Posts: 44
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Joachip wrote:
Done! (Please reload)

Thanks :)
It defaults to on, don't know if that was intended (probably yes).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 30, 2017 6:04 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 7:21 pm
Posts: 273
Yeah, I think most people are interested in having fewer technical problems, and the specific individuals who really do want a DC offset are probably nerdy enough to locate that attribute.

Also, the sound changes so little that I doubt anyone will notice the difference when loading old bmx files.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ] 

All times are UTC


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group