buzz forums

forums of the buzz
It is currently Wed Sep 19, 2018 2:05 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 349 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 ... 18  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Aug 01, 2012 1:58 pm 

Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 7:34 am
Posts: 46
double07 wrote:
mute wrote:
everyone should think about clicking on that donate button @ http://www.xlutop.com/buzz/ every once and awhile, i just did ;]


Yeah good call, donated :)


Indeed.. Donation sent :]


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Aug 01, 2012 11:22 pm 

Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 6:54 pm
Posts: 246
Thank you polac works fine now :D


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 02, 2012 11:21 pm 

Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 6:54 pm
Posts: 246
donation sent ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2012 9:07 pm 

Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2012 8:35 pm
Posts: 12
Just found some slightly odd behaviour using the latest 32bit adapter with the latest 32 bit buzz.
Was trying out the (iLoked) demo of the lexicon LXP Native bundle. The 32 bit plugins crash on load. The 64 bit plugins load + work fine, but if you save a buzz session which uses one and then reload, the session hangs when it tries to load the LXP plugin back in. (to the point where I have to terminate vst.x64.exe in task manager) This is on windows 7 pro 64 bit.

Was also trying to find a decent free side chaining vst compressor. Both Molot and density III seem to cause pretty horrid distorted output. Not sure if that's to do with the way they're handing multiple inputs or just me being an idiot (first time I've messed about with multi-in vsts), or something else. Anyone else got these up and running in Buzz?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2012 9:36 pm 

Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2012 8:35 pm
Posts: 12
OK so the molot/density problem was due to not having checked multi io mode in the vst loader preferences. Sorry. Lexicon plugins still seem a bit broken however.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2012 6:44 pm 

Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 9:19 am
Posts: 220
Quote:
Just found some slightly odd behaviour using the latest 32bit adapter with the latest 32 bit buzz.
Was trying out the (iLoked) demo of the lexicon LXP Native bundle. The 32 bit plugins crash on load. The 64 bit plugins load + work fine, but if you save a buzz session which uses one and then reload, the session hangs when it tries to load the LXP plugin back in. (to the point where I have to terminate vst.x64.exe in task manager) This is on windows 7 pro 64 bit.


Hi, ilok plugins are known to crash in Buzz, the workaround is to use the bridge here, btw you can also try to run the 32-bit plugins as separate process(holding shift key while loading a plugin). Regarding the session hangs, you could try to play around with the bridge settings(holding ctrl+alt while the mouse is over the vst gui). There are settings called "Embedded Vst Gui" or "Async Load/Save", try to disable them both.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 09, 2012 9:18 pm 

Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 7:34 am
Posts: 46
Hi Polac,

I recently bought the MOPHO PlugSE vst editor http://soundtower.com/plugse/mopho/index.html for controlling my Mopho HW synth, and i have stumbled upon a weird issue when using it in pvst. When i set the vst editor to sync tempo externally (to buzz), the synth's tempo goes completely haywire. It sounds like 120 bpm is sent as 240, but if you set the tempo to say 124, it varies alot. Enabling or disabling "sync to buzz" in pvst doesn't make a difference. I have tried the editor in other hosts as Ableton live and Samplitude, and there has been no issue with the midi clock in those. Here's a sample of oddness: http://box.retrofox.dk/t2/Mopho_midi_clock_issue.mp3 . In the first part use Samplitude, set to 120bpm. In the 2'nd part i use Buzz with 120 bpm, and in the final part, i set buzz's tempo to 124 bpm (which causes even more chaos)
Do you have any idea what can be causing this?

/shro0m


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2012 1:03 pm 

Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 9:19 am
Posts: 220
Shro0m wrote:
Hi Polac,

I recently bought the MOPHO PlugSE vst editor http://soundtower.com/plugse/mopho/index.html for controlling my Mopho HW synth, and i have stumbled upon a weird issue when using it in pvst. When i set the vst editor to sync tempo externally (to buzz), the synth's tempo goes completely haywire. It sounds like 120 bpm is sent as 240, but if you set the tempo to say 124, it varies alot. Enabling or disabling "sync to buzz" in pvst doesn't make a difference. I have tried the editor in other hosts as Ableton live and Samplitude, and there has been no issue with the midi clock in those. Here's a sample of oddness: http://box.retrofox.dk/t2/Mopho_midi_clock_issue.mp3 . In the first part use Samplitude, set to 120bpm. In the 2'nd part i use Buzz with 120 bpm, and in the final part, i set buzz's tempo to 124 bpm (which causes even more chaos)
Do you have any idea what can be causing this?

/shro0m


Hard to say what's going on here. I tried the demo but that does not help here as I don't own a mopho. Do you output midi via Buzz/Asio internal midi-out or directly from the editor to midi-out? I also did some changes related to VstTimeInfo so you could redownload the loaders and see what happens now.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 10, 2012 5:44 pm 

Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 7:34 am
Posts: 46
polac wrote:
Shro0m wrote:
Hi Polac,

I recently bought the MOPHO PlugSE vst editor http://soundtower.com/plugse/mopho/index.html for controlling my Mopho HW synth, and i have stumbled upon a weird issue when using it in pvst. When i set the vst editor to sync tempo externally (to buzz), the synth's tempo goes completely haywire. It sounds like 120 bpm is sent as 240, but if you set the tempo to say 124, it varies alot. Enabling or disabling "sync to buzz" in pvst doesn't make a difference. I have tried the editor in other hosts as Ableton live and Samplitude, and there has been no issue with the midi clock in those. Here's a sample of oddness: http://box.retrofox.dk/t2/Mopho_midi_clock_issue.mp3 . In the first part use Samplitude, set to 120bpm. In the 2'nd part i use Buzz with 120 bpm, and in the final part, i set buzz's tempo to 124 bpm (which causes even more chaos)
Do you have any idea what can be causing this?

/shro0m


Hard to say what's going on here. I tried the demo but that does not help here as I don't own a mopho. Do you output midi via Buzz/Asio internal midi-out or directly from the editor to midi-out? I also did some changes related to VstTimeInfo so you could redownload the loaders and see what happens now.


Hi Polac,

yeah, i understand it will be tricky to test as it requires the hardware. I wonder if its possible to analyze midi the messages somehow..
Regarding your question, I bind both midi in & out in the editor itself, not with buzz/asio.
I installed the latest pvst, but no change unfortunately. I did however notice something interesting. When i disable sub-tick timing in buzz, the clock rate seems correct. The bpm is still very unstable though.
Here's an audio example (1'st part: 120bpm with subtick disabled. 2'nd half: Subtick timing enabled) http://box.retrofox.dk/t2/Mopho_midi_clock_issue2.mp3


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2012 3:06 pm 

Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2012 8:35 pm
Posts: 12
polac wrote:
Hi, ilok plugins are known to crash in Buzz, the workaround is to use the bridge here, btw you can also try to run the 32-bit plugins as separate process(holding shift key while loading a plugin). Regarding the session hangs, you could try to play around with the bridge settings(holding ctrl+alt while the mouse is over the vst gui). There are settings called "Embedded Vst Gui" or "Async Load/Save", try to disable them both.


Loading the 32 bit plugins as a separate process got them into buzz without crashing, unfortunately they hang on reload in the same way as the 64 bit ones.
Tried disabling the embedded gui and async load/save but neither seems to help.
Fiddled with some of the other bridge settings too but nothing seems to have improved matters.

Thanks for your help anyway. Pesky iLoks

edit - just had a go loading/saving in renoise and reaper as a bit of a sanity check on my installation and ilok drivers. Both work fine.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2012 6:07 pm 

Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 9:19 am
Posts: 220
Quote:
Hi Polac,

yeah, i understand it will be tricky to test as it requires the hardware. I wonder if its possible to analyze midi the messages somehow..
Regarding your question, I bind both midi in & out in the editor itself, not with buzz/asio.
I installed the latest pvst, but no change unfortunately. I did however notice something interesting. When i disable sub-tick timing in buzz, the clock rate seems correct. The bpm is still very unstable though.
Here's an audio example (1'st part: 120bpm with subtick disabled. 2'nd half: Subtick timing enabled) http://box.retrofox.dk/t2/Mopho_midi_clock_issue2.mp3


Does it help to enable the "process with fixed blocksize" option?

Quote:
Loading the 32 bit plugins as a separate process got them into buzz without crashing, unfortunately they hang on reload in the same way as the 64 bit ones.
Tried disabling the embedded gui and async load/save but neither seems to help.
Fiddled with some of the other bridge settings too but nothing seems to have improved matters.


Is it possible to save a fxb/fxp via loader editor and then reload the fxb/fxp again?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2012 7:32 pm 

Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 7:34 am
Posts: 46
polac wrote:
Quote:
Hi Polac,

yeah, i understand it will be tricky to test as it requires the hardware. I wonder if its possible to analyze midi the messages somehow..
Regarding your question, I bind both midi in & out in the editor itself, not with buzz/asio.
I installed the latest pvst, but no change unfortunately. I did however notice something interesting. When i disable sub-tick timing in buzz, the clock rate seems correct. The bpm is still very unstable though.
Here's an audio example (1'st part: 120bpm with subtick disabled. 2'nd half: Subtick timing enabled) http://box.retrofox.dk/t2/Mopho_midi_clock_issue2.mp3


Does it help to enable the "process with fixed blocksize" option?

Quote:
Loading the 32 bit plugins as a separate process got them into buzz without crashing, unfortunately they hang on reload in the same way as the 64 bit ones.
Tried disabling the embedded gui and async load/save but neither seems to help.
Fiddled with some of the other bridge settings too but nothing seems to have improved matters.


Is it possible to save a fxb/fxp via loader editor and then reload the fxb/fxp again?



You sir, are a star! Using fixed block size solved it! Thanks Frank :D


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2012 6:52 am 

Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 11:43 am
Posts: 125
Location: Warsaw, Poland
tinga wrote:
[...]
great news, all buzz generators + all vsti now in x64, works fine [...].


Do you mean x64 plugs working for x32 Buzz? Well I did noticed bin64 folder from its very beginning, but I thought it is for experimental purposes only...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2012 3:42 pm 

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 8:55 am
Posts: 384
I try to copy over the folder into the Buzz directory (on my system C:\Program Files (x86)\Jeskola\Buzz)... I think I'm putting it in the right place, but I still get the error that the Polac VST Loader (for Polac VST 1.1.dll) is too old. What am I missing here? Do I need to remove some files or something to get it to work correctly?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2012 7:52 pm 

Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 5:18 pm
Posts: 81
did you replace the dll's and files exactly following the folder structure?..like "machines" is in gear etc?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 19, 2012 5:44 pm 

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 8:55 am
Posts: 384
I think I figured out what I did... I had a VST and VSTi dll in both Generators and Effects (I probably fubarred my Buzz directory at some point). It looks like it should not have one in the Generators folder.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 24, 2012 6:54 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 6:44 am
Posts: 13
Hiya

just noticed in the latest zip:

x86: http://www.xlutop.com/buzz/zip/beta/pvst_v1.1.10b26.zip

the Polac VSTi 1.1.dll is located in the 'effects' folder and not 'generator' folder, that is perhaps what happened to you mridlen?

ot: i noticed this because i just setup Buzz on my girlfriends pc so she can make tunes. awesome? i think so 8-)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2012 11:14 am 

Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 9:19 am
Posts: 220
Jellyfish wrote:
Hiya

just noticed in the latest zip:

x86: http://www.xlutop.com/buzz/zip/beta/pvst_v1.1.10b26.zip

the Polac VSTi 1.1.dll is located in the 'effects' folder and not 'generator' folder, that is perhaps what happened to you mridlen?

ot: i noticed this because i just setup Buzz on my girlfriends pc so she can make tunes. awesome? i think so 8-)


Oops, reuploaded again :mrgreen:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2012 4:58 pm 

Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 8:55 am
Posts: 384
Oh good I'm not going crazy :lol:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 29, 2012 8:29 am 

Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2012 8:55 am
Posts: 7
Polac,

man - i can't believe you're still actively pushing the adapters. Respect, dude!!!

Cheers
(Ronny here :))


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 349 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1 ... 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 ... 18  Next

All times are UTC


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group