ParamEQLin

User avatar
bigyo
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 2:29 pm
Contact:

ParamEQLin

Post by bigyo »

i'm trying to get back into buzzmachine programming, and it's not easy :)
i managed to add graph to linear-phase ParamEQLin. it still needs some work but it may come in handy now.
ParamEQ is also updated, i have improved frequency/q pre-warping so the filter works better near the Nyquist frequency.

http://bigyo.untergrund.net/dsp.html
User avatar
IXix
Posts: 1113
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 3:24 pm

Re: ParamEQLin

Post by IXix »

Go Bigyo! :)

OT but I hope Fire Stone gets released at some point. Wood One and Earth Plate are two of my all time favourite machines.
mute
Posts: 417
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 8:30 pm

Re: ParamEQLin

Post by mute »

fantastic news :)
User avatar
Joachip
Posts: 352
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 7:21 pm
Contact:

Re: ParamEQLin

Post by Joachip »

Great news.
Please let me know if you want me to add them to the buzz machine repository, so that machines aren't scattered around on a forum like this.

The repo that takes over from buzzmachines.com:
http://buzz.robotplanet.dk/
User avatar
Klangkulisse
Posts: 304
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 12:20 am
Location: ••• Düsseldorf ••• Made of Light

Re: ParamEQLin

Post by Klangkulisse »

I like it! :dance:
I am using paramEQ constantly.
User avatar
Klangkulisse
Posts: 304
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 12:20 am
Location: ••• Düsseldorf ••• Made of Light

Re: ParamEQLin

Post by Klangkulisse »

... of this linear phase eq is rather simple. It's a second order iir ParamEQ converted to zero-phase fir-filter using forward-backward filtering. So ParamEQLin should sound similar to ParamEQ, except phase response of course. There is an attribute to set filter length. If the filter is not long enough, ...
Bigyo, as you pointed out while introducing ParamEQLin, the filter length could be set longer. I am wondering for what reason I would do this? The longer the filtertime gets, the higher is the resulting latency. I use it with the shortest filter length 5 ms and - I know nothing about liner phase porgramming requirements - why isn`t there a zero filter length. O. k., 5 ms is very short, but it does something audible when using it only on one generator that plays along with a generator without a ParamEQLin.

Short explaination appreciated ;)
User avatar
bigyo
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 2:29 pm
Contact:

Re: ParamEQLin

Post by bigyo »

Joachip wrote:Great news.
Please let me know if you want me to add them to the buzz machine repository, so that machines aren't scattered around on a forum like this.

The repo that takes over from buzzmachines.com:
http://buzz.robotplanet.dk/
Yes, please add them to buzz.robotplanet.dk
Klangkulisse wrote: Bigyo, as you pointed out while introducing ParamEQLin, the filter length could be set longer. I am wondering for what reason I would do this? The longer the filtertime gets, the higher is the resulting latency. I use it with the shortest filter length 5 ms and - I know nothing about liner phase porgramming requirements - why isn`t there a zero filter length. O. k., 5 ms is very short, but it does something audible when using it only on one generator that plays along with a generator without a ParamEQLin.
Make sure you have enabled MachineDelayCompensation in buzz settings, so latency isn't a problem anymore.
Low frequency equalization requires long filter lengths. If it's 5ms then it won't work for frequencies lower than 200 Hz.
User avatar
AndersBrontosaurus
Posts: 516
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 9:31 am
Location: Fellingsbro

Re: ParamEQLin

Post by AndersBrontosaurus »

Sweetness!
I know basically nothing about filtering but once I realized that you can put in several tracks and add filters on top of each others you can get some nice sounds with this! Think I just found my go-to filter.

A By-passswitch would be awesome too.
User avatar
Joachip
Posts: 352
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 7:21 pm
Contact:

Re: ParamEQLin

Post by Joachip »

I've uploaded them.
They sound great btw!

Also, a lot of you people out there might be wondering "what's this all about?"

I'll skip the long tech babble and give you an example. As you'll probably discover, the difference is small, but it's there. It's the kind of difference that may seem invisible to the untrained ear, but mastering engineers and pro studio sound engineers and such will know the difference (I tested this on a friend earlier today, and he could tell).

So without further ado, here's an example: First a normal EQ and then a "linear-phase" EQ on the same piece of audio:

http://www.robotplanet.dk/files/audiode ... se_eq.flac
commadore65
Posts: 98
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 7:49 pm

Re: ParamEQLin

Post by commadore65 »

My tracks always have a sea of ParamEQs in so this is great! :)
User avatar
Joachip
Posts: 352
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 7:21 pm
Contact:

Re: ParamEQLin

Post by Joachip »

I did find a few oddities though:

When you open the machine, the graphical UI opens, but it stays open when you close the machine again.

Also, I wonder if it would be possible to have it start up with more than one bands added by default? Perhaps 2 or 3?
polac
Posts: 415
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 9:19 am
Contact:

Re: ParamEQLin

Post by polac »

When you open the machine, the graphical UI opens, but it stays open when you close the machine again.
Seems to work here for me, UI closes if you delete the machine.
User avatar
bigyo
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 2:29 pm
Contact:

Re: ParamEQLin

Post by bigyo »

i think Joachip meant that the graphical UI stays open when you close the parameter window, but i don't know how to close it automatically with paramerer window.

as for default number of tracks (bands) there is a callback

Code: Select all

virtual void SetNumTracks(CMachine *pmac, int n);		// bonus trivia question: why is calling this SetNumberOfTracks not a good idea?
so why is calling this SetNumberOfTracks not a good idea?

second way is to increase minTracks to 3 or 4 but then it's not possible to have it with less tracks.
User avatar
AndersBrontosaurus
Posts: 516
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 9:31 am
Location: Fellingsbro

Re: ParamEQLin

Post by AndersBrontosaurus »

No chance for a By-pass?
polac
Posts: 415
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 9:19 am
Contact:

Re: ParamEQLin

Post by polac »

but i don't know how to close it automatically with paramerer window.
I don't think that's possible.
second way is to increase minTracks to 3 or 4 but then it's not possible to have it with less tracks
In pvst i have a setting for mintracks in preferences. It changes mintracks always at loader startup.. You could save the mintracks setting in registry for example.
User avatar
IXix
Posts: 1113
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 3:24 pm

Re: ParamEQLin

Post by IXix »

polac wrote:
but i don't know how to close it automatically with paramerer window.
I don't think that's possible.
Probably too late but if you had a WPF GUI you could have the display integrated into the parameter window.
User avatar
bigyo
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 2:29 pm
Contact:

Re: ParamEQLin

Post by bigyo »

AndersBrontosaurus wrote:No chance for a By-pass?
adding bypass parameter will make old songs incompatible with the new machine, but there is built-in bypass in right-click machine menu.
User avatar
AndersBrontosaurus
Posts: 516
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 9:31 am
Location: Fellingsbro

Re: ParamEQLin

Post by AndersBrontosaurus »

IXix wrote: Probably too late but if you had a WPF GUI you could have the display integrated into the parameter window.
Would be great, but unfortunately I don't have the skills to pull off such a stunt either.
bigyo wrote:adding bypass parameter will make old songs incompatible with the new machine, but there is built-in bypass in right-click machine menu.
I thought so but was kinda hoping for a little button in the gui. :-) Great that there is a built in one though. That'll work!
User avatar
bigyo
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 2:29 pm
Contact:

Re: ParamEQLin

Post by bigyo »

updated, increased minTracks to 4.
User avatar
Klangkulisse
Posts: 304
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 12:20 am
Location: ••• Düsseldorf ••• Made of Light

Re: ParamEQLin

Post by Klangkulisse »

Thank you – it is my standard EQ ;)
Post Reply