buzz forums

forums of the buzz
It is currently Thu Feb 20, 2020 1:48 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 39 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Buzz 64
PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2019 12:20 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 9:45 pm
Posts: 316
Yeah I'm on Windows 10 - I guess I can have Buzz32 installed for legacy use and Buzz64 for any future projects that need any hefty VSTis.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Buzz 64
PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2019 5:29 pm 

Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 6:54 pm
Posts: 265
I use buzz 64 because of NI Kontakt and it's big built in libraries. Which is more than 3 gig limit of buzz 32. Although buzz 32 is more complete because u cannot use native 32 bit buzz machines in 64 unless u load them thru polac loader


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Buzz 64
PostPosted: Wed Feb 06, 2019 12:49 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 9:45 pm
Posts: 316
boombaxx wrote:
u cannot use native 32 bit buzz machines in 64 unless u load them thru polac loader
Aha - That's probably where all my crashes were coming from, I didn't realise the native buzz machines had to be bridged in Buzz64. Weirdly I could get [some] of them to work with new projects and they just had the text '32' in the corner but it definitely wasn't stable...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Buzz 64
PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2019 2:08 am 

Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 6:54 pm
Posts: 265
I have been using 64 bit Buzz since the first version i have had very few problems. It is a fork of 32 bit that was pretty stable anyway. I only use a select few machines that i can rely on. It would be nice if there was a way to use buzz bmx's in daws like reaper. I have seen buzz type interfaces for reaper


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Buzz 64
PostPosted: Sun Mar 10, 2019 7:56 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 9:45 pm
Posts: 316
Well not sure how it does it but just tested Buzz 32bit to its limits with some meaty Kontakt and Falcon libraries (both of which being the 64bit version of the VSTs):

Image

So does the vst.x64.exe bridge operate in 64bit mode hence how it can address this amount of ram in an individual process, and yet somehow work realtime with a 32bit application. Surely this is witchcraft ?! :o


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Buzz 64
PostPosted: Tue Mar 19, 2019 3:46 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 9:42 pm
Posts: 697
mcbpete wrote:
So does the vst.x64.exe bridge operate in 64bit mode hence how it can address this amount of ram in an individual process, and yet somehow work realtime with a 32bit application. Surely this is witchcraft ?! :o


yes it starts a new 64bit process and shoves the audio back and forth from 32bit buzz to that 64bit process via IPC (inter-process-communication). That IPC probably has some slight overhead, but the benefits of this working at all far outweigh that of course. The same is true if you load a 32bit plugin in 64bit buzz. This feature is quite remarkable as many commercial hosts have not bothered to implement this at all.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Buzz 64
PostPosted: Tue Mar 19, 2019 10:07 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 3:24 pm
Posts: 734
UNZ wrote:
This feature is quite remarkable as many commercial hosts have not bothered to implement this at all.

Amen to that! Heavy skills round here. :dance:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Buzz 64
PostPosted: Thu Mar 28, 2019 1:34 am 

Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 6:54 pm
Posts: 265
It is amazing how buzz has become what it is today. When i first used this program i was using a cyrix 400 256mb win 95 wondering after adding a few things why everything was stuttering. The infector was my fav now it,s incredibly detailed sound librarys and synths. Buzz 64 is more for sample based music it removes the 4 gig limit up to 128gb. If you want to use buzz machines in Buzz 64 try Polacs machine.

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=7


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Buzz 64
PostPosted: Sat Jul 20, 2019 8:03 pm 

Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2011 10:22 am
Posts: 30
mcbpete wrote:
just deleting some machines may cause a crash


Gravedigging a bit, but I wanted to post my solution to this problem, which I've encountered specifically in Buzz64 on Win10: deleting machines often causes a crash in the auxiliary BuzzEngine32.exe.

Being stubborn, I patched the binary so that the offending code would not execute. Quick and hacky, but now it works fine and I've been using my patched Buzz 64 ever since. You're probably better off using Buzz 32, but if anyone's interested, I'm attaching the patched binary. (I guess this might seem shady but you can always compare it with the original build 1503 and confirm that I only replaced a couple of instructions with NOPs).


Attachments:
BuzzEngine32_pac_patch.zip [65.71 KiB]
Downloaded 91 times
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Buzz 64
PostPosted: Wed Jul 31, 2019 1:41 pm 
Site Admin

Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 2:04 pm
Posts: 279
pac wrote:
mcbpete wrote:
just deleting some machines may cause a crash


Gravedigging a bit, but I wanted to post my solution to this problem, which I've encountered specifically in Buzz64 on Win10: deleting machines often causes a crash in the auxiliary BuzzEngine32.exe.

Being stubborn, I patched the binary so that the offending code would not execute. Quick and hacky, but now it works fine and I've been using my patched Buzz 64 ever since. You're probably better off using Buzz 32, but if anyone's interested, I'm attaching the patched binary. (I guess this might seem shady but you can always compare it with the original build 1503 and confirm that I only replaced a couple of instructions with NOPs).


Very interesting. :) Did you figure out what exactly was wrong with it?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Buzz 64
PostPosted: Tue Sep 03, 2019 12:42 am 

Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2011 10:22 am
Posts: 30
I did not pinpoint the exact problem, but I made an effort!

First, the steps that reliably produce the crash for me:
    - Open Buzz x64, add any 32-bit generator (eg. Infector) and any two 32-bit effects (eg. cheapo amp), all connected in a single chain to the master
    - It should now look like this: Infector -> ch.amp -> ch.amp -> Master
    - Delete the generator or the effect that's connected to it
This causes a crash on my "new" Win10 laptop, but did not cause a crash on my old Win7 laptop, so it's annoyingly system-dependent, somehow.

If you can reproduce the crash, then I guess that's all the information you need. So I'm not sure if the following stuff is useful, but I'll include everything that I possibly figured out while making my hacky patch:

The crash is an access violation in BuzzEngine32. It occurs inside something that looks like a large `switch`/`case` statement that has a `case` for each type of BuzzEngine32 call. When you make the problematic machine deletion, the `case` for DeleteInput gets called twice. The first call works fine and calls cheapo amp's CMachineInterfaceEx::DeleteInput, but then there's the second call, where the code attempts to retrieve and call a null function pointer instead of a machine's DeleteInput method.

I haven't figured out much beyond this. There's clearly something wrong with the second DeleteInput call, maybe it's happening on the deleted machine? And when I delete the generator, maybe there should only be one call to DeleteInput, because if I do this:
Infector -> ch.amp -> Master
...and I delete the generator and step through the assembly, the DeleteInput case only gets called once and there's no crash. So why does it get called twice when there are multiple effects in the chain? Anyways, that's as far as I debugged.

As for my hacky solution, I think I just NOP'ed out the call to CMachineInterfaceEx::DeleteInput. So it never gets called for 32-bit machines in my patched version, which might cause its own issues, but I haven't noticed them.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Buzz 64
PostPosted: Thu Dec 26, 2019 4:28 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 3:29 pm
Posts: 38
pac wrote:
I did not pinpoint the exact problem, but I made an effort!

First, the steps that reliably produce the crash for me:
    - Open Buzz x64, add any 32-bit generator (eg. Infector) and any two 32-bit effects (eg. cheapo amp), all connected in a single chain to the master
    - It should now look like this: Infector -> ch.amp -> ch.amp -> Master
    - Delete the generator or the effect that's connected to it
This causes a crash on my "new" Win10 laptop, but did not cause a crash on my old Win7 laptop, so it's annoyingly system-dependent, somehow.

You are right.Today I tried to install Buzz x64 to my wife's laptop ,system: Windows 7 Ultimate.Every seems to be OK.
I connected machines like you : Infector->ch.amp->ch.amp->Master.Tried to delete some of them,load again,delete,unconnect,connect 7900s Osc effect and works fine for me.Any crash.I didn't know that I can use old 32bit buzz machines in 64bit Buzz.This is awesome!Am I dumb?Yes I'm. :roll: :oops: I tried time before,didn't work,but maybe destroyed windows registry at that time.
I copied to generator/effect folder : FSM Infector,Cheapo amp.,7900s OSC,GreenMilk generators,effects only for this time.
I didn't try to ASIO Polac yet.I'm gonna to try 64bit Buzz more next times. 32bit VST plugin tried too,working good.Wow !Thanks to Polac !
If I'll notice some issue, I will let you know.
Image

EDIT : When I try to load another buzz generator and connect for example Infector ,,Buzz crash :( :(
EDIT 2 : Disabled multithreading for buzz machine(Infector) in gear xml and works again... OK, I'll keep trying

Image


Last edited by temporalsounds on Sat Dec 28, 2019 11:09 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Buzz 64
PostPosted: Thu Dec 26, 2019 10:18 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 3:24 pm
Posts: 734
Is it possible to have both 32 and 64 installed? Do they use the same registry keys?

For music I'll stick with 32 but it would be good to be able to test my machines on 64. Got a new laptop at last! :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Buzz 64
PostPosted: Fri Dec 27, 2019 11:46 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 3:29 pm
Posts: 38
IXix wrote:
Is it possible to have both 32 and 64 installed? Do they use the same registry keys?


If I can response to you...
Good question.In this case I can't say cerntainly yes.If I can explain it like amateur:I think,each installation of Buzz on your/my system communicating each other somehow.I'm sure,You know about it.
I think we can have installed both of them,but the best way, in my opinion, is that there will be setting-up same parameters in both of them.I mean same version of Polac VST(in 64bit Buzz->64bit Polac VST version,in 32bit Buzz->32bit Polac version),same plugin path for plugins,same Theme for both Buzz,same wave out,same Pattern mod,maybe the same machines .dlls,machines. x64 .dll in Gear folder from Polac VST version,, ofcourse for 64bit and for 32bit..

I would be happy ,if I reach this :D ,next thing is deppending of your Windows system compatibility,version of Win system(7,8.1,10) etc..installed frameworks,Visual c++

I use Win 7 for now(I know the support will end soon),but I can use my soundcard in Win7 a lot better like in Win10.I can play audio ASIO and wave sound at same time for examle in 44.1khz.
I mean, when I start Buzz in ASIO, I can play wave sound at the same time with another application with my sound card in Win7 .Sample rate must be the same.It can be 44.1,48,88,96...

I'm not programmer,just common technician,
I 'm sorry of this poor explanation.But if I know something new,I'll tell you.I'm working on it.

EDIT:If I'm wrong,just correct me.My experiences with Buzz x64 are not so big :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Buzz 64
PostPosted: Sat Dec 28, 2019 1:05 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 3:29 pm
Posts: 38
IXix wrote:
Is it possible to have both 32 and 64 installed? Do they use the same registry keys?


Today ,I tried to run Buzz32 and Buzz64 at same time.Just didn't hear any sound ..nevermind,it happens sometime with Buzz32 too.
I can definitely say : It is possible to have both of them. EDIT: Didn't test everything,and functionality of all native buzz machines,it needs to be modified right I guess.So if you are happy now with 32 version,stay with 32.
I think,they use same registry keys.

Image


Last edited by temporalsounds on Sun Dec 29, 2019 5:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Buzz 64
PostPosted: Sat Dec 28, 2019 4:49 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 3:24 pm
Posts: 734
temporalsounds wrote:
Today ,I tried to run Buzz32 and Buzz64 at same time.

I can't imagine ever wanting to run them simultaneously! If they can live happily on the same system without messing up each other's settings then that's all I need. Looks promising. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Buzz 64
PostPosted: Tue Dec 31, 2019 12:45 am 

Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 5:18 pm
Posts: 83
@temporalsounds

Sorry for the OT.
Would you mind to share your Buzz Skin? Looks ace :dance:

Oh, and Happy New Year to everyone ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Buzz 64
PostPosted: Tue Dec 31, 2019 6:15 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 27, 2019 3:29 pm
Posts: 38
domtron wrote:
Sorry for the OT.
Would you mind to share your Buzz Skin? Looks ace


Oh,if you mean off topic,you don't need to apologize ;) http://forums.jeskola.net/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=2386

About Buzz64 ,this was just experiment only...if you want to use buzz native machines ,I recommend to stay with x86 version.And don't destroy your registry please.. :lol:

Happy New Year too,Buzzers !!!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Buzz 64
PostPosted: Sun Jan 05, 2020 7:14 pm 

Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 5:18 pm
Posts: 83
Thanks :dance:


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 39 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group