32 vs 64 bit...

Post Reply
blafot
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2014 2:19 pm

32 vs 64 bit...

Post by blafot »

Hi.
Have been using Buzz live on stage for some years inm advanced setups using vsti.
Now i have a new computer win 7 pro, 64 bit, 8gb ram, ssd and so on.

To get most performance live in realtime (mic input, autotune, harmonizer, 3 midikeyboards etc).
I guess I should use 64-bit but I need power and stability for hours.

What version to use?

For recording I use my 64-bit software, but for buzz?
Most plugins are 32 bit for now but I use a lot so... i need memory.

/M

mridlen
Posts: 403
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 8:55 am
Contact:

Re: 32 vs 64 bit...

Post by mridlen »

64 bit Buzz is still considered experimental, although some here are using it exclusively.

Polac VST can load 64 bit VSTs even in 32 bit.

I don't think 32 vs 64 has that much influence on performance.

I use Win 7 pro with 32 bit Buzz in a live performance setting. No issues at all.

blafot
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2014 2:19 pm

Re: 32 vs 64 bit...

Post by blafot »

Thanx.

Then I will use 32-bit and hope that the 8 gig will be handled by windows. I'm gonna load aprox 5 gig of samples in vsts ram.
/m

Tiadiad
Posts: 111
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 9:55 am

Re: 32 vs 64 bit...

Post by Tiadiad »

I've been running 64-bit Buzz exclusively. All of the VSTs I use are 64 bits, and 98 out of 100 times everything runs smoothly. If you're using 8 gigs of ram you should look into 64 bit buzz, as I understand it there is no point in having anything over 4 gigs if you are running at 32 bits.

boombaxx
Posts: 267
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 6:54 pm

Re: 32 vs 64 bit...

Post by boombaxx »

I have used 64 bit buzz quite a lot and found it to be stable enough. Although it refuses to work with my delta 1010 in polac audio device not connected. Have to use wasapi all the time

blafot
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Jan 22, 2014 2:19 pm

Re: 32 vs 64 bit...

Post by blafot »

Hi.
Thanx. Using 32 bit for now. Setting system up now for music, got no gigs for now so I only work with homestudiorecordings now.

Are going to test the 64 bit later. I have to use Polac asio cause I need lov latency. Are using internal sound when on stage, good enough, no input, when using input i use my FW-mixer (Phomic HB) and i need maximum 4 msec latency, does not got that with wasapi.

Are using both 32 and 64 bits vst-i/vst-Efx.

/M

Post Reply