[SOLVED] Can't get Chahurs xpmod to work

Post Reply
User avatar
AndersBrontosaurus
Posts: 489
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 9:31 am
Location: Fellingsbro

[SOLVED] Can't get Chahurs xpmod to work

Post by AndersBrontosaurus »

Hello (again).

I'm trying to install chahurs xpmod next to the normal pattern xp.I've followed the instructions but something is wrong, it's not popping up.

i have downloaded and etracted to gear/generators
I have created gear.xml and added it in gear.

It sounds so simple. What can i have done wrong?
Last edited by AndersBrontosaurus on Sun Sep 11, 2016 5:53 pm, edited 3 times in total.

User avatar
ohmegah7
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 10:56 pm

Re: can't get Chahurs xpmod to work

Post by ohmegah7 »

do you have a "gear_defaults" xml doc in your main buzz folder? if so you can edit that to include the mod

User avatar
chahur
Posts: 203
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2011 5:19 pm

Re: can't get Chahurs xpmod to work

Post by chahur »

Nothing else to do ...
Maybe something is wrong in the file Gear.xml.
It should be :

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<Gear>
<Machine Name="Jeskola Pattern XP mod" LoadAtStartup="True"/>
</Gear>

Better not to edit the file gear_default.xml, it is replaced when you install a new version of buzz.

User avatar
Mozart von Robot
Posts: 98
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2012 2:15 am
Location: Sweden

Re: can't get Chahurs xpmod to work

Post by Mozart von Robot »

Make sure the dll file didn't end up in a subfolder (such as gear\generators\generators) when you extracted it. If it did, move the file to the correct folder.

snowglobe
Posts: 337
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 12:36 pm

Re: can't get Chahurs xpmod to work

Post by snowglobe »

AndersBrontosaurus wrote:it's not popping up.?
This is probably not the answer to you problem, but just in case you're waiting for something to happen automatically that isn't going to ...

Image

User avatar
AndersBrontosaurus
Posts: 489
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 9:31 am
Location: Fellingsbro

Re: can't get Chahurs xpmod to work

Post by AndersBrontosaurus »

Thanks all of you for support. It turned out to be me being an iidjit. I am used from linux tojust create a file with the right prefix. It didnt work inwindows. i made gear.xml in windows. savedit as xml but apparently it was still a txtfile. Havent had time to try again but assume that this will solve the problem.

User avatar
AndersBrontosaurus
Posts: 489
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 9:31 am
Location: Fellingsbro

Re: can't get Chahurs xpmod to work

Post by AndersBrontosaurus »

Well, I sincerely can't grasp what's wrong here.

I have installed the "Microsoft Visual C++ 2013 Redistributable package"
I have installed the patternXP alternate, unzipped into gear\generators
I have created the file "gear.xml" and placed it in \gear.

What obvious thing am I missing? I have even rebooted.

User avatar
AndersBrontosaurus
Posts: 489
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 9:31 am
Location: Fellingsbro

Re: can't get Chahurs xpmod to work

Post by AndersBrontosaurus »

chahur wrote:Nothing else to do ...
Maybe something is wrong in the file Gear.xml.
It should be :

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<Gear>
<Machine Name="Jeskola Pattern XP mod" LoadAtStartup="True"/>
</Gear>

Better not to edit the file gear_default.xml, it is replaced when you install a new version of buzz.
I used Chahur's advice above. The line on top ( <?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?> ) isn't on the bisouwaresite. But it gave me an error. "Failed to open file" So I removed it again.

User avatar
onecircles
Posts: 320
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2014 7:07 am

Re: can't get Chahurs xpmod to work

Post by onecircles »

I ran into a problem installing this because I was trying to use the 64 bit version with 32 bit buzz. Make sure the version you're using matches buzz rather than your os.

However if you're doing all this in a virtual machine, who knows.

User avatar
onecircles
Posts: 320
Joined: Wed Mar 26, 2014 7:07 am

Re: can't get Chahurs xpmod to work

Post by onecircles »

Also make sure your version of visual studio matches buzz, not your OS as well.

User avatar
AndersBrontosaurus
Posts: 489
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 9:31 am
Location: Fellingsbro

Re: can't get Chahurs xpmod to work

Post by AndersBrontosaurus »

onecircles wrote:Also make sure your version of visual studio matches buzz, not your OS as well.
Thanks. I installed both so it shouldn't be a problem. Guess I'll give up on the alternative version and just install xpmod full on.
It's annoying not to solve it, but time is limiting and I just want it up and running so I guess I'll sacrifice this opportunity of learning. :-)

User avatar
AndersBrontosaurus
Posts: 489
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 9:31 am
Location: Fellingsbro

Re: can't get Chahurs xpmod to work

Post by AndersBrontosaurus »

woooh!!!!

Case closed!
Oskari I love you! :dance:

Was just about to forget about the dual pattern XP/XPMod when release 1500 jumped up in my lap.


Why is there no love-smilies? <3 <3 <3

User avatar
AndersBrontosaurus
Posts: 489
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 9:31 am
Location: Fellingsbro

Re: [SOLVED!] Can't get Chahurs xpmod to work

Post by AndersBrontosaurus »

Bumping this since I have issues again. Trying to use Buzz on my other computer but get the error "the specified module could not be found".
I have downloaded the alternate 32bitpxpmod since I'm on a 64bit computer using 32bit Buzz and placed it in gearfolder.
I have edited the gear.xml so it looks like the photo below.
Can anybody spot what's wrong?

I'm using the alternate since I'm afraid that I'd lose patterns from the songs using the normal oskari pattern xp. I've seen that switching pattrn editor deletes the data in the patterns. If this is not the case I could use the standard pxpmod rather than the alternate.

Bonusquestion: how to make pxpmod the default editor?
Attachments
gear.jpg
gear.jpg (166.54 KiB) Viewed 3664 times
pxpmod.jpg
pxpmod.jpg (31.91 KiB) Viewed 3664 times

User avatar
AndersBrontosaurus
Posts: 489
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 9:31 am
Location: Fellingsbro

Re: [] Can't get Chahurs xpmod to work

Post by AndersBrontosaurus »

Bumping

oskari
Site Admin
Posts: 281
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 2:04 pm

Re: [] Can't get Chahurs xpmod to work

Post by oskari »

It's probably just a missing VC runtime.

User avatar
AndersBrontosaurus
Posts: 489
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 9:31 am
Location: Fellingsbro

Re: [] Can't get Chahurs xpmod to work

Post by AndersBrontosaurus »

Oskari, you were right. It was the redistributable visual studio 2013 x86 that I needed. Installed2015 first (both x64 and x86 before I finally got it right. Thanks for helping!

Post Reply