If you had to cheat on Buzz...

Willy
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Jul 22, 2014 6:02 pm

If you had to cheat on Buzz...

Post by Willy »

Which free or inexpensive DAW with VST support would you use for electronic music?

I tried LMMS, not my thing.

User avatar
AndersBrontosaurus
Posts: 489
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 9:31 am
Location: Fellingsbro

Re: If you had to cheat on Buzz...

Post by AndersBrontosaurus »

Buzé! :D

Or

Traction for cheap/inexpensive, Bitwig for expensive option.

User avatar
IXix
Posts: 869
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 3:24 pm

Re: If you had to cheat on Buzz...

Post by IXix »

If it's not done in Buzz, it gets done in REAPER.

User avatar
AndersBrontosaurus
Posts: 489
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 9:31 am
Location: Fellingsbro

Re: If you had to cheat on Buzz...

Post by AndersBrontosaurus »

Hummm...
Yes I guess I should check Reaper out once and for all.

ags
Posts: 162
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 4:06 pm

Re: If you had to cheat on Buzz...

Post by ags »

You can still have a proper editor in Reaper thanks to scripting and this guy.

Image

boombaxx
Posts: 267
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2011 6:54 pm

Re: If you had to cheat on Buzz...

Post by boombaxx »

Made a song tonight with it. If it was mouse clickable it would be amazing.


http://indiemusicpeople.com/songs.aspx? ... stID=28276

ags
Posts: 162
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 4:06 pm

Re: If you had to cheat on Buzz...

Post by ags »

If it was mouse clickable it would be amazing.
It is now :D

User avatar
nathansnider
Posts: 58
Joined: Sat May 11, 2013 4:10 am
Contact:

Re: If you had to cheat on Buzz...

Post by nathansnider »

If I had to cheat on Buzz, it would probably be with NerdSeq.

Image

Then I'd just have to stumble upon a few thousand dollars to spend on a Eurorack system, and I'd have a fully functional modular tracker once again!

User avatar
IXix
Posts: 869
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 3:24 pm

Re: If you had to cheat on Buzz...

Post by IXix »

nathansnider wrote:If I had to cheat on Buzz, it would probably be with NerdSeq.
<drooooooooool> oooooooooooh. </droooooooooool>

User avatar
Naildgod
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2018 6:28 pm
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Contact:

Re: If you had to cheat on Buzz...

Post by Naildgod »

IXix wrote:If it's not done in Buzz, it gets done in REAPER.

Ditto. Reaper's my go-to for recording live instruments/vox, otherwise I've used Buzz for so long that I'm more comfortable in its interface.

User avatar
Candle
Posts: 210
Joined: Sun Apr 23, 2017 1:03 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: If you had to cheat on Buzz...

Post by Candle »

Buzz and Audacity. Though I've mastered albums using Traverso DAW a couple of times.

But basically I work with Buzz for all of my experimental, space rock & other oddities that I create.

See You In The Shadows…

goro
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2011 6:48 pm

Re: If you had to cheat on Buzz...

Post by goro »

Presonus Studio One sorry Buzz... but still going back to my old tunes taking large chunks and turning them into new tracks. I wish Buzz would be a VSTi that I could use for sound design/mangling in S1.

sai`ke
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon May 28, 2018 11:42 am

Re: If you had to cheat on Buzz...

Post by sai`ke »

ags wrote:You can still have a proper editor in Reaper thanks to scripting and this guy.

Image
Ghehehe. Glad you like it. :dance:

Can I add your GIF to the github page as a demo of the plugin in action? :)

ags
Posts: 162
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 4:06 pm

Re: If you had to cheat on Buzz...

Post by ags »

Oh sure (I am the other (minor) contributor after all. :dance: )

sai`ke
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon May 28, 2018 11:42 am

Re: If you had to cheat on Buzz...

Post by sai`ke »

ags wrote:Oh sure (I am the other (minor) contributor after all. :dance: )
Ah cool! I didn't know it was you. Hello! :D

And thanks! :)

polac
Posts: 321
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 9:19 am
Contact:

Re: If you had to cheat on Buzz...

Post by polac »

I also would go for Reaper, it's also cool that there is a tracker script now, very nice.

User avatar
nikmis
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 11:14 am
Contact:

Re: If you had to cheat on Buzz...

Post by nikmis »

Nothing I have ever tried has the ease of use with the sequencing. I can pump out a sequence in no time on buzz and then use any VST or sample or native buzz instrument or effect. It's still the best for me all these years later. The combo of the tracker interface with the sequence view and then the modularity is still the best I've used. I am sure other DAWS could do it too, but I just couldn't get on with piano roll and I am too lazy to try to learn if they have any tracker option or maybe like a sheet music option? I dont know

My ultimate dream would be to have Finale or Sibelius as the sequencer, but controlling jeskola buzz machines and VSTs. As a native sequencer, though, no complicated MIDI stuff

I am 99% sure it's just because I am stuck in my ways though

sai`ke
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon May 28, 2018 11:42 am

Re: If you had to cheat on Buzz...

Post by sai`ke »

For those of you on REAPER that miss the modularity of buzz...
Image
Image

https://github.com/JoepVanlier/Hackey-Machines

It's a work in progress, it's not perfect and not everything carries over, but some of the essence is there :)

Next up: The sequencer (but this may be a while!)

User avatar
IXix
Posts: 869
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 3:24 pm

Re: If you had to cheat on Buzz...

Post by IXix »

Wow. :o

polac
Posts: 321
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 9:19 am
Contact:

Re: If you had to cheat on Buzz...

Post by polac »

Great work.

Post Reply