Noob MIDI question…

Post Reply
User avatar
Candle
Posts: 181
Joined: Sun Apr 23, 2017 1:03 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Noob MIDI question…

Post by Candle »

I searched through the forums to see if I could find an answer to this (I'm sure) noob question. But I couldn't find anything. So here goes.

I have my guitar routed through my UMC404HD via Polac's ASIO In to bring the signal into Buzz. I have two routings from the ASIO In: first to IX PatchBay (to select the multiple Effects routings I love to play around with) & secondly to WDE's wonderful Note Detector (where my Guitar can then trigger Buzz Generators or VSTi's). What I would like to do is MIDI record the notes detected by Note Detector so that I can then upload the resulting MIDI file into my Guitar TAB software (Power TAB 1.7) for scoring.

I'm fairly new to MIDI. I understand the concept & the power of the standard. But I can't seem to get it to work the way I think it should. Essentially, I'd like to figure out how to get Buzz to send MIDI Note data (from Note Detector) externally to a 3rd party program that can record that data. Or (even better, but I don't think Buzz does this) have Buzz natively record the MIDI Note Data that I can then import into my TAB software.

I've tried Mimo's MIDI Out Machine as well as the vMIDIOutII Machine. Neither seem to work (or maybe I'm doing something wrong). Polac has MIDI In & MIDI Bus II. Will MIDI Bus II send MIDI Note Data external? I have MIDI Yoke installed (this is on my old XP computer that I keep around for some of its elder charms), but perhaps there's something better for Virtual MIDI routing.

A step-by-step for dummies version of instructions would be greatly appreciated as I seem to be stumbling over what I would think would be pretty basic methodologies.

Thank you in advance!

See You In The Shadows…

User avatar
thOke
Posts: 314
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 7:14 am

Re: Noob MIDI question…

Post by thOke »

Candle wrote:What I would like to do is MIDI record the notes detected by Note Detector so that I can then upload the resulting MIDI file into my Guitar TAB software (Power TAB 1.7) for scoring.

... have Buzz natively record the MIDI Note Data that I can then import into my TAB software.
You can send the midi data from note detector GUI to a target buzz machine, i recommend IX Split.
Create a pattern for it in the sequence editor as long as you want the recording to be.
Now press the record button from Buzz (F7). All the notes are now recorded to the pattern while you are playing.
midi rec.jpg
midi rec.jpg (47.81 KiB) Viewed 792 times
Finally go to the small sequence editor above the pattern editor, right click on the track and export to midi file!!
midi exp.jpg
midi exp.jpg (56.14 KiB) Viewed 792 times

User avatar
Candle
Posts: 181
Joined: Sun Apr 23, 2017 1:03 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Noob MIDI question…

Post by Candle »

Wow, that looks deleriously simple. Thank you so much thOke!

See You In The Shadows…

User avatar
Candle
Posts: 181
Joined: Sun Apr 23, 2017 1:03 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Noob MIDI question…

Post by Candle »

Just tried a simple CMaj Arpeggio with a QSamo synth run through the Note Detector & recorded into IX Split. After playing around with the resulting MIDI file in a sequencer, I got it to work perfectly in Power TAB Editor! Thank you so much thOke!

See You In The Shadows…

User avatar
Candle
Posts: 181
Joined: Sun Apr 23, 2017 1:03 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Noob MIDI question…

Post by Candle »

OK, next Noob MIDI question… :oops:

So, I've been setting up my new MIDI Foot Controller to control a bunch of things in Buzz (mostly IX PatchBay & the Mobius VST Looper). I've discovered that controling either depends on which is selected in the MIDI Focus Machine drop down menu. Is there a way to not have the MIDI Focus on one machine? If so, is that simply by changing Master Keyboard Mode to "False" in settings? Or is there some other way to do this?

Thanks in advance. :)

See You In The Shadows…

User avatar
IXix
Posts: 835
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 3:24 pm

Re: Noob MIDI question…

Post by IXix »

1. Master keyboard mode off.
2. Right-click all your MIDI machines and make sure they're listening to the appropriate channels.
3. Check machine attributes to see if there are any MIDI related options.

You can set defaults for that stuff in gear.xml.

User avatar
Candle
Posts: 181
Joined: Sun Apr 23, 2017 1:03 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Noob MIDI question…

Post by Candle »

That's what I thought. Thanks for clearing that up, IX! :D

See You In The Shadows…

Post Reply