EasyRec

wde
Posts: 200
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2012 9:28 am

EasyRec

Post by wde »

EasyRec records input audio to Wavetable.

EasyRec.png
EasyRec.png (15.42 KiB) Viewed 1421 times

  1. Select slot
  2. Put on record mode
  3. Play song
When stopped, the audio from input should be found in the Wavetable.

Unzip to Effects folder.
EasyRec.zip
(7.91 KiB) Downloaded 10 times
EasyRec_src.zip
(6.77 KiB) Downloaded 41 times
Last edited by wde on Fri Oct 16, 2020 2:42 pm, edited 5 times in total.

User avatar
HerrFornit
Posts: 294
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 12:27 pm
Location: Steinberg UR12, AKG 702, Old Hi-Fi, A-49, PC: Xeon 1230v3 8GB, Win10x64pro, Buzz 1503x86
Contact:

Re: EasyRec

Post by HerrFornit »

Cool, manual. Thanx for that awesome plugin!
It's v1.0.5 now, right?

Just an extra: Most important for me is vocal MIC-Recording, that's really EASY !!
EasyRecMic.jpg
EasyRecMic.jpg (3.76 KiB) Viewed 1387 times

User avatar
Candle
Posts: 223
Joined: Sun Apr 23, 2017 1:03 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: EasyRec

Post by Candle »

Love the machine. Can I make a feature request? Make WAV Table Slot a parameter so that you can program WAV Table Slot Number selections in the Pattern Editor? That way you could switch Slot Numbers on the fly in a little less cumbersome way than the drop-down menu.

Keep up the great work, WDE! 8-)

See You In The Shadows…

User avatar
HerrFornit
Posts: 294
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 12:27 pm
Location: Steinberg UR12, AKG 702, Old Hi-Fi, A-49, PC: Xeon 1230v3 8GB, Win10x64pro, Buzz 1503x86
Contact:

Re: EasyRec

Post by HerrFornit »

Candle wrote:
Mon Jul 27, 2020 6:21 pm
Love the machine. Can I make a feature request? Make WAV Table Slot a parameter so that you can program WAV Table Slot Number selections in the Pattern Editor? That way you could switch Slot Numbers on the fly in a little less cumbersome way than the drop-down menu.

Keep up the great work, WDE! 8-)

See You In The Shadows…
yes, and then record all instruments separately in wavetable automatically like a "super Freezer". (set you have enough RAM). Et voila - You then play all tracks in Audioblock with volume curves etc, ! :dance:

User avatar
magmavander
Posts: 613
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 5:22 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: EasyRec

Post by magmavander »

yes, and then record all instruments separately in wavetable automatically like a "super Freezer".
Doesn't Jeskola Loop recorder already do that ?

User avatar
HerrFornit
Posts: 294
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 12:27 pm
Location: Steinberg UR12, AKG 702, Old Hi-Fi, A-49, PC: Xeon 1230v3 8GB, Win10x64pro, Buzz 1503x86
Contact:

Re: EasyRec

Post by HerrFornit »

oh, did not know it. Now I see the problem of that idea, too. You have to know at what point of the processing strip you want to record !

And I in my nativity thought you can record the tracks of the sequence editor ha ha :lol:

Thank you!

etruscan
Posts: 76
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 10:10 am

Re: EasyRec

Post by etruscan »

Candle wrote:
Mon Jul 27, 2020 6:21 pm
Love the machine. Can I make a feature request? Make WAV Table Slot a parameter so that you can program WAV Table Slot Number selections in the Pattern Editor? That way you could switch Slot Numbers on the fly in a little less cumbersome way than the drop-down menu.

Keep up the great work, WDE! 8-)

See You In The Shadows…
Hell yes, this would be awesome! CyanPhase Recorder finally replaced :)

Machine sounds great as-is though - looking forward to using! :dance:

User avatar
HerrFornit
Posts: 294
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 12:27 pm
Location: Steinberg UR12, AKG 702, Old Hi-Fi, A-49, PC: Xeon 1230v3 8GB, Win10x64pro, Buzz 1503x86
Contact:

Re: EasyRec

Post by HerrFornit »

For multichannel recordings using many instances of EasyRec it would be very convenient if the record/stop button would not reset to "stop" after pausing the recording via pause button in BUZZ.
EDIT2: Wavetable# is also set to "1" after reload of the song.

EDIT:
-Labels in wavetable are not consistent ?
-You can hear a gap between the generated instruments of buzz and Audioblock in the setup (see picture), that should be synchronized? when doing vocal recordings. After several tries I am not sure if the gap is variable from recording session to recording session. But approx 120 msec (s picture), no gap with jeskola loop recorder


EasyRecAudioBlockMultichannel2 wavetable.jpg
EasyRecAudioBlockMultichannel2 wavetable.jpg (17.25 KiB) Viewed 1277 times
EasyRecAudioBlockMultichannel2.jpg
EasyRecAudioBlockMultichannel2.jpg (25.5 KiB) Viewed 1279 times
EasyRecAudioBlockMultichannel2 Gap1.jpg
EasyRecAudioBlockMultichannel2 Gap1.jpg (74.96 KiB) Viewed 1245 times
Thank you!

wde
Posts: 200
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2012 9:28 am

Re: EasyRec

Post by wde »

  • Waveslot parameter
  • AutoStop enable/disable
  • Use machine name in Wavetable recordings (might be useful when using multiple EasyRec instances)
  • Timestamp fix
Note: Running out of memory will show notification but no crash (I hope!).

BTW: You can easily manage multiple instances of EasyRec using 'Columns..' feature in PatternXP. Pretty amazing.

EsyRecColumns.png
EsyRecColumns.png (55.88 KiB) Viewed 1234 times

User avatar
IXix
Posts: 891
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 3:24 pm

Re: EasyRec

Post by IXix »

Great work, thanks! :dance:

User avatar
HerrFornit
Posts: 294
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 12:27 pm
Location: Steinberg UR12, AKG 702, Old Hi-Fi, A-49, PC: Xeon 1230v3 8GB, Win10x64pro, Buzz 1503x86
Contact:

Re: EasyRec

Post by HerrFornit »

Thanx, Great! but new version of EasyRec crashes directly after loading.

wde
Posts: 200
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2012 9:28 am

Re: EasyRec

Post by wde »

Oops. Please try again.

User avatar
HerrFornit
Posts: 294
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 12:27 pm
Location: Steinberg UR12, AKG 702, Old Hi-Fi, A-49, PC: Xeon 1230v3 8GB, Win10x64pro, Buzz 1503x86
Contact:

Re: EasyRec

Post by HerrFornit »

Cool.

Quick test:
no crash.
Time stamps are consistent now.
"Autostop disable" works but no update of wavetable when disabled.
AudioBlock does not update pattern length in my setup now.
Still have (shorter) gap.

wde
Posts: 200
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2012 9:28 am

Re: EasyRec

Post by wde »

HerrFornit wrote:
Fri Jul 31, 2020 6:05 pm
"Autostop disable" works but no update of wavetable when disabled.
When AutoStop is disabled you have to manually change the Mode from Record to Stop. After that things get updated.

User avatar
HerrFornit
Posts: 294
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 12:27 pm
Location: Steinberg UR12, AKG 702, Old Hi-Fi, A-49, PC: Xeon 1230v3 8GB, Win10x64pro, Buzz 1503x86
Contact:

Re: EasyRec

Post by HerrFornit »

wde wrote:
Fri Jul 31, 2020 6:24 pm
HerrFornit wrote:
Fri Jul 31, 2020 6:05 pm
"Autostop disable" works but no update of wavetable when disabled.
When AutoStop is disabled you have to manually change the Mode from Record to Stop. After that things get updated.
ok I see, works, then you have the same # of clicks at another place? ;)
Edit: ok solved with patter parameters ! Easy!

wde
Posts: 200
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2012 9:28 am

Re: EasyRec

Post by wde »

Updated version that might fix the added silence in the beginning of recordings. Can you check it out?

User avatar
HerrFornit
Posts: 294
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 12:27 pm
Location: Steinberg UR12, AKG 702, Old Hi-Fi, A-49, PC: Xeon 1230v3 8GB, Win10x64pro, Buzz 1503x86
Contact:

Re: EasyRec

Post by HerrFornit »

ok. much better now with new version.
compared to jeskola loop recorder (green) its still a few milliseconds (yellow)
(In the meanwhile I tested with pattern parameters, I'm not sure now, bit I think gap using parameters in the version before was much smaller)
EasyRecAudioBlockMultichannel2 Gap2.jpg
EasyRecAudioBlockMultichannel2 Gap2.jpg (21.1 KiB) Viewed 1173 times
EDIT: with pattern paramters (new version), perhaps 1-2 msec? You can hear the difference though, like a double "tracking effect", (same sounding when recompared that loop with Audioblock vs Matilde3)
EasyRecAudioBlockMultichannel2 Gap3.jpg
EasyRecAudioBlockMultichannel2 Gap3.jpg (20.34 KiB) Viewed 1171 times

wde
Posts: 200
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2012 9:28 am

Re: EasyRec

Post by wde »

Did some cleanups and uploaded new version. However, I can't reproduce this.

Here is how I tested:

1. Load sample to Wavetable.
2. Use AudioBlock and Matilde Tracker 2 to play sample.
3. Record using EasyRec and Loop Recorder.
4. Compare all recordings in Audacity.

User avatar
HerrFornit
Posts: 294
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 12:27 pm
Location: Steinberg UR12, AKG 702, Old Hi-Fi, A-49, PC: Xeon 1230v3 8GB, Win10x64pro, Buzz 1503x86
Contact:

Re: EasyRec

Post by HerrFornit »

Good morning WDE,

I did a test with a different setup. Used other instruments (VST). I think now it is an artefact produced by the VST I used. In new setup it looks great. Sorry, I hope you had not too much effort with it. I will keep watching ;)

Thanx for caring!

wde
Posts: 200
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2012 9:28 am

Re: EasyRec

Post by wde »

I'm glad EasyRec is less buggy now (not bug free I'm sure :))

As a bonus I recompiled Jeskola Loop Recorder to output 32bit Wavs.
Last edited by wde on Fri Aug 07, 2020 1:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Post Reply