Any generator to slice samples?

Post Reply
Kooshan
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2013 11:44 am

Any generator to slice samples?

Post by Kooshan »

Sorry to make several threads , I’m trying to go back to buzz .
So Is there any generator in buzz that slices samples ? Like the old dr.rex in reason? So that you could easily change tempo witthout messing everything up

User avatar
magmavander
Posts: 633
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 5:22 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Any generator to slice samples?

Post by magmavander »

Liveslice ?

https://buzz.robotplanet.dk/search.php?q=ohm
Loop slicer: Live Slice is a loop slicer intended for live use or studio improvisation. It lets you manipulate your loops in a visual environment. The loop is split into 4,8,16, or 32 slices of equal length, that can be rearranged using drag and drop. The waveform is colored so that darker frequencies are black, middle frequencies blue and higher freqyencies red
PARAMETER ENVELOPES
There are four available parameter envelopes:
Volume
Panning
Pitch
Decay / Length
Slice - an alternative to the drag'n' drop editing of slices
Probability - 0: slice will never play 100: slice will always play
Two PEER controllers
(can be configured to control any buzz machine.)
Beneath the envelope selection buttons you find a bunch of icons. The lock is for locking all sliders in the envelopes (make them move together), the rest of them can be used to apply common envelopes (rising, falling, random, etc.) the slider below the icons define the bottom and top values (it's a double slider).
FINE TUNING YOUR SLICES
You can change slice points by dragging them. Move the pointer to one of the lines (upper waveform) and drag with the left mouse button.
There is an auto quantize feature that will move the slicepoints to the closest edge in the sound.
If you set the tempo or pitch to low values, slices will overlap - if this gets in your way you can use CTRL + left mouse button to change the decay of a slice, or use the DECAY envelope
Image

Kooshan
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2013 11:44 am

Re: Any generator to slice samples?

Post by Kooshan »

Thanks! I’ve used liveslice but it was a bit buggy on that time , not playing slices correctly and some other glitches. Is there any other machine for this purpose?

User avatar
thOke
Posts: 333
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 7:14 am

Re: Any generator to slice samples?

Post by thOke »

There are several options to slice samples with buzz machines, but to "easily change tempo without messing everything up"
i really recommend the free loopcloud player vst. Smooth pitchshifting, timestretching, slicing and much more.
loopcloud.jpg
loopcloud.jpg (59.42 KiB) Viewed 209 times
https://www.loopcloud.com/cloud/

Kooshan
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2013 11:44 am

Re: Any generator to slice samples?

Post by Kooshan »

Thanks ! Will check it out ! Could you elaborate on the several options you mentioned in buzz?

User avatar
HerrFornit
Posts: 330
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 12:27 pm
Location: Steinberg UR12, AKG 702, Old Hi-Fi, A-49, PC: Xeon 1230v3 8GB, Win10x64pro, Buzz 1503x86
Contact:

Re: Any generator to slice samples?

Post by HerrFornit »

Have you tried AudioBlock? It has pitch and time strectching, too.

User avatar
thOke
Posts: 333
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 7:14 am

Re: Any generator to slice samples?

Post by thOke »

Kooshan wrote:
Tue Jan 26, 2021 7:21 am
...Could you elaborate on the several options you mentioned in buzz?
I am mostly slicing loops with offset command in Matilde Tracker, but that's a little tedious.
Other machines you probably might try out:
slicer.jpg
slicer.jpg (49.9 KiB) Viewed 193 times

User avatar
AndersBrontosaurus
Posts: 508
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 9:31 am
Location: Fellingsbro

Re: Any generator to slice samples?

Post by AndersBrontosaurus »

This one is supposed to be good. There is a free, limited version.
https://hy-plugins.com/product/hy-slicerwin-mac/

User avatar
magmavander
Posts: 633
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 5:22 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Any generator to slice samples?

Post by magmavander »

I have tried it a lot of time but I dont recall if I used it in a song. Anyway, never had problems. Maybe it depends on version ?

synthphase
Posts: 88
Joined: Sat Dec 17, 2011 7:57 pm

Re: Any generator to slice samples?

Post by synthphase »

As Thoke mentioned it's a little tedious but I recommend using Unwieldy tracker for slicing at least as an exercise to visualize what granular slicing (pitch / time shifting) is all about.

For instance if you don't know the bpm time of your loop but it's a standard 4 bar loop just use the offset percent column and use the format

0000
...
0800
...
1000
...
1800
...
2000
...
2800
...
3000
...
3800
...
4000
...
etc

Putting a C-4 on every row so you're jumping from the beginning of the loop every time. Experiment with changing the tempo after doing this. When you start to get a lot of flam sounds (like cheap drill-n-bass) you can increase the resolution by adding the rows to every 16th note instead of every 8th note like I have shown above.

0000
0400
0800
0C00
1000
etc

In this way you can get a template down for a particular loop that you can then do all kinds of wacky stuff to by just moving the numbers around to slice and skip around the beat. Add pitch slides, volume slides, retriggers etc for all kinds of madness.

Another way to do essentially the same thing is to use the retrigger column along with the "on retrigger move offset" commands. The fist of these commands 0A will exactly the same thing as above but on every internal retrigger so doing

0A 8100

will skip by an offset of 100 every retrigger. Some math is involved in this but suffice it to say you have to have an even number of subticks for a 4/4 beat and retrigger by about half the max subticks (subtick column) to stretch the loop out to match your tempo.

You don't have to be a math nerd (I certainly am not), just experiment until it sounds right.

Post Reply