Page 1 of 1

Flickering drop-down menus in PVST & 64-bit VST2 plugins

Posted: Sun May 23, 2021 11:51 am
by Joachip
I still haven't found a solution to this problem, but I've just realized that it does not happen when using the same 64 bit plugin in 32 bit Samplitude. So perhaps this is actually a PVST specific problem?

https://www.robotplanet.dk/f/buzzf/Valh ... d_PVST.mp4

It also happens in other 64-bit plugins. I've just chosen this one as an example because it's free and simple.
Does anyone else experience this?

Re: Flickering drop-down menus in PVST & 64-bit VST2 plugins

Posted: Sun May 23, 2021 4:19 pm
by thOke
A workaround is described here:

viewtopic.php?p=14977#p14977

Re: Flickering drop-down menus in PVST & 64-bit VST2 plugins

Posted: Sat May 29, 2021 8:07 pm
by polac
Yes can reproduce it here, I guess it can be fixed by disable "embedded gui" in the vst3shell settings. I know there are some problems with plugins done with the JUCE framework.

Re: Flickering drop-down menus in PVST & 64-bit VST2 plugins

Posted: Sat May 29, 2021 8:24 pm
by polac
it does not happen when using the same 64 bit plugin in 32 bit Samplitude
Most likely Samplitude does not embed a window of another process into another parent window and just opens a new popup window, who knows?

Re: Flickering drop-down menus in PVST & 64-bit VST2 plugins

Posted: Sun May 30, 2021 4:40 pm
by River Cricket
polac wrote:
Sat May 29, 2021 8:07 pm
Yes can reproduce it here, I guess it can be fixed by disable "embedded gui" in the vst3shell settings. I know there are some problems with plugins done with the JUCE framework.
As described in this JUCE thread, it seems if pVST could refrain from setting WS_CHILD, then - at least theoretically - JUCE popups would work without requiring the mild irritation of separating the VST GUI from the pVST functions menu. Technically (as is pointed out in that thread) this is poor form for Win_32 API, but "perfect", "enemy of the good", etc etc.

Of course, the ideal solution would be for JUCE to fix this bug that's been on their radar for three years, but...

Re: Flickering drop-down menus in PVST & 64-bit VST2 plugins

Posted: Fri Jun 04, 2021 5:59 pm
by Joachip
polac wrote:
Sat May 29, 2021 8:07 pm
Yes can reproduce it here, I guess it can be fixed by disable "embedded gui" in the vst3shell settings. I know there are some problems with plugins done with the JUCE framework.
Disabling "Embedded GUI" leaves me in a situation where I cannot close the VST UI once it's been opened.

I don't know if it's possible or if you have the time & energy, but if you make a hack solution to the problem in JUCE, i would be happy to beta test it.

The worst thing is: JUCE is really common it seems, when I look at the plugins I have installed. I even use it for my own plugins! :oops:

Re: Flickering drop-down menus in PVST & 64-bit VST2 plugins

Posted: Tue Jun 08, 2021 12:48 am
by River Cricket
Joachip wrote:
Fri Jun 04, 2021 5:59 pm
polac wrote:
Sat May 29, 2021 8:07 pm
Yes can reproduce it here, I guess it can be fixed by disable "embedded gui" in the vst3shell settings. I know there are some problems with plugins done with the JUCE framework.
Disabling "Embedded GUI" leaves me in a situation where I cannot close the VST UI once it's been opened.
Yeah, it's a bit clunky. You have to close the PVST window, which is usually placed behind the VST GUI. Sometimes, though, the PVST window will close but leave the VST GUI open. This also happens if you remove the PVST machine while the VST GUI is still active.

Another issue with disabling embedded GUI is that if you attempt to open the embedding-disabled VST GUI while a "regular" / embedding-enabled VST GUI is currently visible, Buzz will "hang" for about 30-60 seconds. Audio will continue to function, but everything else Buzz-related will be completely unresponsive. Problem only manifests if the VST GUI currently visible is standard, if the currently visible VST is also embedded-disabled then everything functions normally.
Joachip wrote:
Fri Jun 04, 2021 5:59 pm
I don't know if it's possible or if you have the time & energy, but if you make a hack solution to the problem in JUCE, i would be happy to beta test it.
+1 to this!
Joachip wrote:
Fri Jun 04, 2021 5:59 pm
The worst thing is: JUCE is really common it seems, when I look at the plugins I have installed. I even use it for my own plugins! :oops:
Yes! Especially with modern plugins, it feels like about 75% of the stuff coming out is JUCE. Valhalla suite, Tokyo Dawn suite, Vital, even the new Dexed are all JUCE. The worst is when a JUCE synth implements its own QWERTY to piano, which is always inferior to the PVST QWERTY to piano (seriously, if some crazy person came out with a velocity/aftertouch QWERTY keyboard, I think I'd prefer it to any other controller out there, thanks to PVST :lol: ).

JUCE synths that have their own QWERTY require you to click the little PVST window to actually use the PVST QWERTY, which can be tricky to remember in the heat of the moment when jamming out a new patch.