new pvst beta (updated 25-Oct-2021)

wde
Posts: 315
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2012 9:28 am

Re: new pvst beta (updated 25-Oct-2021)

Post by wde »

Thanks!

polac
Posts: 385
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 9:19 am
Contact:

Re: new pvst beta (updated 25-Oct-2021)

Post by polac »

I really hope the save bug is sorted out, fingers crossed.

User avatar
skizzo
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2021 2:26 pm

Re: new pvst beta (updated 25-Oct-2021)

Post by skizzo »

@polac: You know my story - all things work perfectly, no more probs here!

User avatar
mcbpete
Posts: 365
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 9:45 pm

Re: new pvst beta (updated 25-Oct-2021)

Post by mcbpete »

Never knew about the application until last year when I got a new (and rather troublesome to initially diagnose the fault) laptop, and got tech support to aid my repair via this tool - but since have got rather 'obsessed' with Window's built in app Reliability Monitor (more specifically getting a run of days without any kind of warning or critical events so the graph heads towards a fabled 10/10 score :D ). I notice that if I load Buzz with any new VST (or VSTi) installed since last loading (specifically new, rather than updates to older existing versions of the VST/i) that Reliability Monitor will always complain of a critical event claiming that scan.x64.exe has 'stopped working'.

There doesn't actually seem to be any visible problem, Polac will successfully scan that plugin and add it to my machine index, just wondering quite why Windows itself seems to kick up a fuss regarding what seems to be a non-issue. Does anyone else get this critical event logged in Reliability Monitor ?

Here's an example error log (Had just installed Black Rooster Audio - VPRE-73HE before launching Buzz). The plugin itself works perfectly and appears in the gear list:
Faulting application name: scan.x64.exe, version: 0.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x5ca48c8e
Faulting module name: VPRE-73HE.dll, version: 2.5.8.0, time stamp: 0x617175b7
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x00000000000f4655
Faulting process id: 0x88c
Faulting application start time: 0x01d7cf75de5ab6df
Faulting application path: C:\Program Files (x86)\Jeskola\Buzz\bin64\scan.x64.exe
Faulting module path: C:\Program Files\Vstplugins\Black Rooster Audio\VPRE-73HE.dll
Report Id: c22f0dce-d293-4a95-a783-550e7b661226
Faulting package full name:
Faulting package-relative application ID:
(apologies to those that have now also fallen for the compulsion of getting a 10/10 score run in Reliability Monitor!)
Last edited by mcbpete on Sun Nov 07, 2021 1:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.

wde
Posts: 315
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2012 9:28 am

Re: new pvst beta (updated 25-Oct-2021)

Post by wde »

polac wrote:
Thu Oct 28, 2021 10:08 am
I really hope the save bug is sorted out, fingers crossed.
I haven't had time to really stress test the new version but at least I haven't encountered issues with some of the bigger plugins. Looking good so far :)

One issue I noticed that might be easier to reproduce.
  1. Start Buzz 32, create a more complex song including many big VSTs.
  2. Add 64bit version of Ozone 8 Standard before Master and select some preset.
  3. Save song
  4. Load song.
  5. If problem occurred, then Ozone crashes when loading and I actually need to rename ozone dll/remove it so that I can load the song again. You might need to play around with the song machines to find correct combination.
Other things:
  • If you are able to create this reproducible setup then saving the song with Ozone 8 64bit and closing Buzz will not close vst.x64.dll process (hinting that something went wrong when saving).
  • Interestingly 32bit version of Ozone 8 will not reproduce this issue in the song where 64bit Ozone does.
Maybe this is Ozone issue and I'm fine using the 32 bit version just in case.

polac
Posts: 385
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 9:19 am
Contact:

Re: new pvst beta (updated 25-Oct-2021)

Post by polac »

One issue I noticed that might be easier to reproduce.

Start Buzz 32, create a more complex song including many big VSTs.
Add 64bit version of Ozone 8 Standard before Master and select some preset.
Save song
Load song.
If problem occurred, then Ozone crashes when loading and I actually need to rename ozone dll/remove it so that I can load the song again. You might need to play around with the song machines to find correct combination.
I was not able to reproduce it here yet, but i only have Ozone 8 Elements installed here. I did save a project with 10 x64 plugins(both vst2 and vst3) and Ozone, all did load just fine here. However I did not edit/insert patterns in this scenario.
Last edited by polac on Tue Nov 16, 2021 11:08 am, edited 1 time in total.

polac
Posts: 385
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 9:19 am
Contact:

Re: new pvst beta (updated 25-Oct-2021)

Post by polac »

mcbpete wrote:
Tue Nov 02, 2021 11:01 pm
Never knew about the application until last year when I got a new (and rather troublesome to initially diagnose the fault) laptop, and got tech support to aid my repair via this tool - but since have got rather 'obsessed' with Window's built in app Reliability Monitor (more specifically getting a run of days without any kind of warning or critical events so the graph heads towards a fabled 10/10 score :D ). I notice that if I load Buzz with any new VST (or VSTi) installed since last loading (specifically new, rather than updates to older existing versions of the VST/i) that Reliability Monitor will always complain of a critical event claiming that scan.x64.exe has 'stopped working'.

There doesn't actually seem to be any visible problem, Polac will successfully scan that plugin and add it to my machine index, just wondering quite why Windows itself seems to kick up a fuss regarding what seems to be a non-issue. Does anyone else get this critical event logged in Reliability Monitor ?

Here's an example error log (Had just installed Black Rooster Audio - VPRE-73HE before launching Buzz). The plugin itself works perfectly and appears in the gear list:
Faulting application name: scan.x64.exe, version: 0.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x5ca48c8e
Faulting module name: VPRE-73HE.dll, version: 2.5.8.0, time stamp: 0x617175b7
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x00000000000f4655
Faulting process id: 0x88c
Faulting application start time: 0x01d7cf75de5ab6df
Faulting application path: C:\Program Files (x86)\Jeskola\Buzz\bin64\scan.x64.exe
Faulting module path: C:\Program Files\Vstplugins\Black Rooster Audio\VPRE-73HE.dll
Report Id: c22f0dce-d293-4a95-a783-550e7b661226
Faulting package full name:
Faulting package-relative application ID:
(apologies to those that have now also fallen for the compulsion of getting a 10/10 score run in Reliability Monitor!)
It's odd it only happens with scan.x64.exe and not with the scan.exe, they are both the same codewise.

User avatar
Klangkulisse
Posts: 303
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 12:20 am
Location: ••• Düsseldorf ••• Made of Light

Re: new pvst beta (updated 25-Oct-2021)

Post by Klangkulisse »

Thank you polac for version 39.
It did fix problems :dance:

rav
Posts: 139
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 3:35 pm

Re: new pvst beta (updated 25-Oct-2021)

Post by rav »

We are now attacked with VST3 plugins from everywhere, without old, good VST2 dll's. I like to keep all my plugins in one place (Buzz folder), but this Common Files path to VST3 make it a little bit messy. Is it possible to add Buzz VST path and also custom paths to VST3 scanner? With possibility to not to scann this Common Files path by default... Would be very nice :)

rav
Posts: 139
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 3:35 pm

Re: new pvst beta (updated 25-Oct-2021)

Post by rav »

Is audio input to VST3 instruments working for you? New version of Surge XT is released only in VST3 format and it's not possible to use as FX in VST3 format. Tried in another DAW and it works.

mridlen
Posts: 424
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2012 8:55 am
Contact:

Re: new pvst beta (updated 25-Oct-2021)

Post by mridlen »

rav wrote:
Fri Jan 21, 2022 11:11 am
Is audio input to VST3 instruments working for you? New version of Surge XT is released only in VST3 format and it's not possible to use as FX in VST3 format. Tried in another DAW and it works.
I'm able to get it to load up but I can't get the dropdown menu at the top to show anything other than "Delay"... it just doesn't pop up the menu at all.

domtron
Posts: 92
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 5:18 pm

Re: new pvst beta (updated 25-Oct-2021)

Post by domtron »

Scanning "for new" gave me loads of problems. An all updated Windows 11 has problems to start "Child processes". Be careful if you want to scan plugins. Net Framework is a mess on Windows 11. Otherwise, you need to hammer the Buzz exe to actually let Windows 11 find "the Child" by accident :lol:

viewtopic.php?f=2&t=2829

For now I leave Buzz open.

Post Reply