mixIO 1.3

Post Reply
User avatar
UNZ
Posts: 747
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 9:42 pm
Contact:

mixIO 1.3

Post by UNZ »

MIXIO 1.3 IS HERE:
http://buzzmachines.com/machineinfo.php?id=1069


MIXIO 1.3 (by Antonio)
=============================================

Version History
===============
1.3: Bugfixes for Groove / X^3 Mode
1.2: Added GUI
1.1: Bugfixes

What is it ?
============================================
It's a simple mixer that makes use of the new multi io in new buzz.
It does gain, pan and has (multiple) solos and mute.
All parameters have an individual inertia setting.
All the core parts of the mixing engine are written in SSE2.
Panning formulas courtesy of Joachim PowerPan.

I don't see any multi io inputs / outputs !?
=============================================
You have to make a pattern for mixio and add tracks.
Track 0 is always MASTER. Track 1 would be input1 / output1.
All Output from Tracks 1-31 gets mixed into Output 0 (MASTER).
You can add up to 32 tracks to use with multi io.
You should probably disable curved wires, because buzz
currently shows all inputs outputs on top of each other if its on.
As of Buzz Build 1421, mixIO always shows the Multi-IO plugs
thanks to MIF_ALWAYS_SHOW_PLUGS, previous builds only show them
after you added more tracks to the machine and disconnect / reconnect
machines to mixIO.

What about the THRU channels ?
=============================================
The THRU channels simply output the input, unaltered.
Parameters have no effect on these outputs.

Are there keyboard shortcuts ?
=============================================
CTRL: Hold CTRL while adjusting value to fine tune
KEY-UP/DOWN: Adjust Value + or - (works on all controls)
KEY-LEFT/RIGHT: Switch to the next Gain Slider (if one is selected).
0: Mute Master
SHIFT+0: Solo Master
1,2,3,4,5...9 Mute Channel 1 to 9
SHIFT+1,2...9 Solo Channel 1 to 9

What about Groove / Modulating the BPM ?
=============================================
Due to the nature of how mixio precalculates fades, the fade time will
not be exactly the tick value you set in the inertia if you use groove.
Imagine if you would modulate the master bpm (comparable to setting groove).
What happens is that each tick has a different length, instead of a fixed length.
What mixio does is pre-calculate the fade time on the tick it is started at,
with the length of that tick at that time.Say you modulate master bpm like this:
128,120,128,120,128,120 etc.
If you now tell mixio to fade to 0db in 4 ticks on a tick where bpm is 128,
the fade time will be 4*128. But if you set it on a tick where bpm is 120,
it will be 4*120. What i'm trying to say is essentially:
If you use groove, adjust the intertia value by ear and not by numbers.

It doesn't work at all!
=============================================
Try depends.exe on the dll http://www.dependencywalker.com/
to see if you lack some dependancys. Make sure your CPU has SSE2.
Also, it won't work in old buzz at all.

THX
=============================================
Special thanks goes out to joachim, mtronic, zephod, mute, elekt, oskari
and the many other buzzers out there helping with and testing this machine.

License
=============================================
MixIO is donationware, if you like it and want to help me out,
please listen (and/or buy) one of my tracks at http://www.outofobscure.com :)
You are allowed to distribute the machine free of charge.
I am not responsible for anything (good or bad) that happens while using this machine.


Image

commadore65
Posts: 84
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 7:49 pm

Re: mixIO 0.97 RC2

Post by commadore65 »

Seems to be working here with no crashes so far.. but I'm on 1350 still and XP.

commadore65
Posts: 84
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 7:49 pm

Re: mixIO 0.97 RC2

Post by commadore65 »

Cool creation btw.. I generally use ld mixer when the gui keeps working =// But I'll give this a go on a tune soon and report back any bugs (if any) I find.

commadore65
Posts: 84
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 7:49 pm

Re: mixIO 0.97 RC2

Post by commadore65 »

You should also mention not to use curved wires when using the multi i/o feature on the readme. If one does (I realise this is pre-existing) the input dots snap over the top of each other.

commadore65
Posts: 84
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 7:49 pm

Re: mixIO 0.97 RC2

Post by commadore65 »

Is it possible to add a master level on the effect itself? I realise this can be done with the 'master' machine anyway but sometimes if doing a live mix it could help if it's all in the same place. Just a suggestion though, not important if it takes billions to implement.

User avatar
UNZ
Posts: 747
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 9:42 pm
Contact:

Re: mixIO 0.97 RC2

Post by UNZ »

commadore65 wrote:Is it possible to add a master level on the effect itself? I realise this can be done with the 'master' machine anyway but sometimes if doing a live mix it could help if it's all in the same place. Just a suggestion though, not important if it takes billions to implement.

Track 0 is the MASTER, every other track after it gets mixed into it. Be sure to read the mixio.txt. I guess i should state that more clearly.

Output 0 == MASTER OUTPUT == (Output 1 + Output 2 + Output 3 + ..... + Output 31)

Thx for testing.

Regarding the GUI, i have something in mind btw to make it better, but that part isn't ready yet.

commadore65
Posts: 84
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 7:49 pm

Re: mixIO 0.97 RC2

Post by commadore65 »

hmm.. seems I'm littering this thread. Just wanted to mention the solo/mute section is greatness

commadore65
Posts: 84
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 7:49 pm

Re: mixIO 0.97 RC2

Post by commadore65 »

UNZ wrote:Track 0 is the MASTER
Sorry mate ..for being an idiot :P
UNZ wrote:Regarding the GUI, i have something in mind btw to make it better, but that part isn't ready yet.
Sounds like you've got a plan :)

Made a lil test summin with it too - http://dl.dropbox.com/u/26937735/mixIOtest.mp3

commadore65
Posts: 84
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 7:49 pm

Re: mixIO 0.97 RC2

Post by commadore65 »

UNZ wrote:Track 0 is the MASTER
Sorry mate ..for being an idiot :P
UNZ wrote:Regarding the GUI, i have something in mind btw to make it better, but that part isn't ready yet.
Sounds like you've got a plan :)



Made a lil test track with it too - http://dl.dropbox.com/u/26937735/mixIOtest.mp3

User avatar
mantratronic
Posts: 296
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 7:23 pm

Re: mixIO 0.97 RC2

Post by mantratronic »

Great machine, very smooth sound with gain changes, and sooo fast!
commadore65 wrote:You should also mention not to use curved wires when using the multi i/o feature on the readme. If one does (I realise this is pre-existing) the input dots snap over the top of each other.
:oops: i never realised that, been using curved wires with multiIO stuff the whole time....

User avatar
UNZ
Posts: 747
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 9:42 pm
Contact:

Re: mixIO 0.97 RC2

Post by UNZ »

yeah curved wires are the devil for multi io hehe

btw, its not only good as a mixer, try making (VERY) fast gappings, tremolo, panbrello, ping pong panning etc at low inertia. Its where the fun's at as it should not click and still sounds good when doing very fast modulations.

User avatar
tinga
Posts: 504
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 5:25 pm

Re: mixIO 0.98 RC3

Post by tinga »

Thanks for this new mixer, the 4 inertia params are perfect, i need it since a long time.
:D

User avatar
thOke
Posts: 321
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 7:14 am

Re: mixIO 0.98 RC3

Post by thOke »

very useful ... thank you !

ags
Posts: 163
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 4:06 pm

Re: mixIO 0.99 RC4

Post by ags »

Image

okapi
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2012 11:57 pm

Re: mixIO 0.99 RC4

Post by okapi »

I created a GUI for mixio the past two days. UNZ is planning to add this one:

Image

Any thoughts or suggestions?

okapi

User avatar
strobotone
Posts: 297
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 2:59 pm
Location: berlin
Contact:

Re: mixIO 0.97 RC2

Post by strobotone »

mantratronic wrote:Great machine, very smooth sound with gain changes, and sooo fast!
commadore65 wrote:You should also mention not to use curved wires when using the multi i/o feature on the readme. If one does (I realise this is pre-existing) the input dots snap over the top of each other.
:oops: i never realised that, been using curved wires with multiIO stuff the whole time....
same here :roll: thanks for the info !

User avatar
strobotone
Posts: 297
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 2:59 pm
Location: berlin
Contact:

Re: mixIO 0.99 RC4

Post by strobotone »

okapi wrote:I created a GUI for mixio the past two days. UNZ is planning to add this one:

Image

Any thoughts or suggestions?

okapi
totally awesome btw !!

User avatar
mantratronic
Posts: 296
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 7:23 pm

Re: mixIO 0.99 RC4

Post by mantratronic »

okapi wrote: Any thoughts or suggestions?

okapi
it's a minor quibble, but the different widths of the inertia and stereo icons (right of the headers) are a bit visually confusing, could they be matched for height and width?

okapi
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2012 11:57 pm

Re: mixIO 0.99 RC4

Post by okapi »

:) Also changed the appearance of the icon so that it fits the stereo one better.

Image

User avatar
mantratronic
Posts: 296
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 7:23 pm

Re: mixIO 0.99 RC4

Post by mantratronic »

:D

Post Reply