mixIO 1.3

User avatar
strobotone
Posts: 297
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 2:59 pm
Location: berlin
Contact:

Re: mixIO 1.2 BETA 1

Post by strobotone »

nicely done !

Shro0m
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 7:34 am

Re: mixIO 1.1

Post by Shro0m »

UNZ wrote:OK, IT'S READY FOR TESTING!

http://outofobscure.dyndns.org:88/mixIO_1_2_Beta_1.zip

Image

Oooh.. Nice work Antonio :)
Will test for sure!

User avatar
tinga
Posts: 504
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 5:25 pm

Re: mixIO 1.2 BETA 1

Post by tinga »

Superb, :D thanks a lot for this essential tool, first machine to add when begins a new bmx.

User avatar
mantratronic
Posts: 296
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 7:23 pm

Re: mixIO 1.2 BETA 1

Post by mantratronic »

:x dear unz, please stop making such fast and well thought out machines, some of us don't want to try that hard :P

User avatar
magmavander
Posts: 613
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 5:22 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: mixIO 1.2 BETA 1

Post by magmavander »

Wow! Makes me feel like being in a 'real' recording studio 8-)
Thanks and merci!!

User avatar
Klangkulisse
Posts: 291
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 12:20 am
Location: ••• Düsseldorf ••• Made of Light

Re: mixIO 1.2 BETA 1

Post by Klangkulisse »

This machine could change my attitude regarding mixers – I like it.
And this is because of the very useful inertia feature. It's much easier to figure out the desired level of an effect by making it slowly turn down and coming up again just by pressing the mute button on that defined channel.

That leads me to an suggestion ;) : selectable inertia curves.
I suppose it is linear now, could imagine non-linear for a longer decay in lower volume level zone or vice versa a slower approach in higher volume level zone to gain a more "musical" rise and fall of volume (or panning etc).

Anyway, thanks for this cool machine.

User avatar
UNZ
Posts: 747
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 9:42 pm
Contact:

Re: mixIO 1.2 BETA 1

Post by UNZ »

Klangkulisse wrote:I suppose it is linear now
no, inertia is cosine interpolation currently.
also, the slider is x^3 so it behaves exactly like you want it to if you automate that.
panning is equal power panning so it should also move smoothly with the inertia.

different curves are a nice idea, but it'll be something for 2.0 or so since you can just automate it slightly different in pattern view to get the same result. for example ctrl-shift-i instead of ctrl-i in pxp. or draw it.

User avatar
UNZ
Posts: 747
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 9:42 pm
Contact:

Re: mixIO 1.2 BETA 1

Post by UNZ »

i'm working on the proper help file but here's some tips already:

-use CTRL for finetune on all knobs / sliders
-arrow keys (left right) move between selected gain slider in channels
-arrow keys (up down) to adjust values on knobs / sliders (CTRL=finetune)
-WASD same as arrow keys
-mousewheel works on knobs / sliders (CTRL=finetune)
-rightclick on knobs / sliders for reset to default
-123456789 mute channels
-shift + 123456789 solo channels
-0 mute master
-shift+0 solo master

flat
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 4:55 pm

Re: mixIO 1.2 BETA 1

Post by flat »

Very well done, mixIO is a great addition to buzz.
Thank you very much.

User avatar
thOke
Posts: 321
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 7:14 am

Re: mixIO 1.2 BETA 1

Post by thOke »

really use- and beautiful machine ! thank you

mute
Posts: 389
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 8:30 pm

Re: mixIO 1.2 BETA 1

Post by mute »

Anyone else having problems with the GUI not appearing?

User avatar
outsider
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2011 2:55 am
Location: Uruguay
Contact:

Re: mixIO 1.2 BETA 1

Post by outsider »

Yeah, me.

W7, dependancies ok.

User avatar
UNZ
Posts: 747
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 9:42 pm
Contact:

Re: mixIO 1.2 BETA 1

Post by UNZ »

what happens if you double click the machine ?
if the parameter appears, please make a screenshot!
Also look for errors in debug console.

make sure you copied BOTH .dll, it wont work with an old mixio.dll

also, make sure the .gui.dll is UNBLOCKED
Image
i'm pretty sure this is the problem... use a decent unarchiver like winrar instead of windows built in crap

wde
Posts: 200
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2012 9:28 am

Re: mixIO 1.2 BETA 1

Post by wde »

Try following procedure:

1. unzip to c:\temp
2. copy from c:\temp to effects folder

or

1. un7zip to c:\temp
2. copy from c:\temp to effects folder

Strange but this worked for me.

Amazing effect. Super job.

User avatar
outsider
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2011 2:55 am
Location: Uruguay
Contact:

Re: mixIO 1.2 BETA 1

Post by outsider »

It was blocked, unblocking it solved the problem. Looks nice! Will try it in detail soon. Thank you!

mute
Posts: 389
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 8:30 pm

Re: mixIO 1.2 BETA 1

Post by mute »

Thanks WDE, can't believe I forgot to check that. :oops:

Wonder why it's getting blocked? This doesn't usually happen.. is it maybe because there are debug libraries in it (dont know if thats true, havent looked) ?

Anyways, awesome stuff Antonio ;] I've never been a fan of mixers in Buzz, but your meters combined with the fact that I use alot of external fx nowadays (and now have the new multi i/o's for sends+plus control in 1 spot).. makes it a really nice tool for me :D

I was thinking last night, about how I put a mixer on Master in one of the previous Buzz releases I was tooling with -- It would be neat if Master could have Mixer plugins (and some subgroup where you could add additional i/o routings for things like pasio, etc) ;]

User avatar
UNZ
Posts: 747
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 9:42 pm
Contact:

Re: mixIO 1.2 BETA 1

Post by UNZ »

there is no debug stuff in it. It has something to do with windows / ie / the unarchiver marking the dll as "downloaded from the (evil evil) internet"...and buzz seems to refuse to load that too (or doesn't even see it because its blocked).
the only thing i know is that if you use winrar you extract it, it seems to work...

its a shitty situation, since noone wants to make an installer or whatever for his machines to fix this, i hope buzz can somehow work around this crap maybe ? or at least display an error message if the loading of gui.dll failed and hint at what was wrong (permissions, blocked etc...). it doesn't care about this on native dll it seems, but i know .net has a different security model when it comes to loading dll. this is a case for oskari, beats me.

about master: i wonder what happens if you make a master.gui.dll hehe (but it would still need the native side of mixio to hook it up fully)

mute
Posts: 389
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 8:30 pm

Re: mixIO 1.2 BETA 1

Post by mute »

after looking into it a bit, i believe it is happening because your download urls are technically redirects

User avatar
UNZ
Posts: 747
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 9:42 pm
Contact:

Re: mixIO 1.2 BETA 1

Post by UNZ »

mute wrote:after looking into it a bit, i believe it is happening because your download urls are technically redirects
no, where do you see a redirect? and even if, i doubt its caused by that.

i'd like to reproduce this for myself but i need some info:
1) what browser used to download ?
2) what unzip app used ?
3) unzipped to what path exactly ?

mute
Posts: 389
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 8:30 pm

Re: mixIO 1.2 BETA 1

Post by mute »

UNZ wrote:
mute wrote:after looking into it a bit, i believe it is happening because your download urls are technically redirects
no, where do you see a redirect? and even if, i doubt its caused by that.

i'd like to reproduce this for myself but i need some info:
1) what browser used to download ?
2) what unzip app used ?
3) unzipped to what path exactly ?
1) IE/Chrome/FF, doesnt matter.. checked all of them
2) Winzip. 7zip and WinRAR are ok.. but that's not a solution, just a bandaid
3) Directly to Buzz/Gear directory, or anywhere else, doesn't matter

I would still guess it's likely due to the ddns setting off ms's security zone for one reason or another. DLL's and Zip's aren't even "high risk" files according to MS.., so something is setting it off into high-risk territory. Plus, as you can reasonably assume.. I download shitloads of zips and dlls (not just buzz related). Maybe theres also a possibility in how the zip was created.. not sure, haven't looked into that (quite possible.. t appears zone information is stored with the file on NTFS systems, so those using XP or vista without NTFS should never experience this).

Post Reply