Page 1 of 2

ParamEQLin

Posted: Thu Dec 15, 2016 11:27 pm
by bigyo
i'm trying to get back into buzzmachine programming, and it's not easy :)
i managed to add graph to linear-phase ParamEQLin. it still needs some work but it may come in handy now.
ParamEQ is also updated, i have improved frequency/q pre-warping so the filter works better near the Nyquist frequency.

http://bigyo.untergrund.net/dsp.html

Re: ParamEQLin

Posted: Sat Dec 17, 2016 12:40 pm
by IXix
Go Bigyo! :)

OT but I hope Fire Stone gets released at some point. Wood One and Earth Plate are two of my all time favourite machines.

Re: ParamEQLin

Posted: Sat Dec 17, 2016 7:52 pm
by mute
fantastic news :)

Re: ParamEQLin

Posted: Sun Dec 18, 2016 11:20 am
by Joachip
Great news.
Please let me know if you want me to add them to the buzz machine repository, so that machines aren't scattered around on a forum like this.

The repo that takes over from buzzmachines.com:
http://buzz.robotplanet.dk/

Re: ParamEQLin

Posted: Sun Dec 18, 2016 2:02 pm
by Klangkulisse
I like it! :dance:
I am using paramEQ constantly.

Re: ParamEQLin

Posted: Sun Dec 18, 2016 2:43 pm
by Klangkulisse
... of this linear phase eq is rather simple. It's a second order iir ParamEQ converted to zero-phase fir-filter using forward-backward filtering. So ParamEQLin should sound similar to ParamEQ, except phase response of course. There is an attribute to set filter length. If the filter is not long enough, ...
Bigyo, as you pointed out while introducing ParamEQLin, the filter length could be set longer. I am wondering for what reason I would do this? The longer the filtertime gets, the higher is the resulting latency. I use it with the shortest filter length 5 ms and - I know nothing about liner phase porgramming requirements - why isn`t there a zero filter length. O. k., 5 ms is very short, but it does something audible when using it only on one generator that plays along with a generator without a ParamEQLin.

Short explaination appreciated ;)

Re: ParamEQLin

Posted: Mon Dec 19, 2016 11:07 pm
by bigyo
Joachip wrote:Great news.
Please let me know if you want me to add them to the buzz machine repository, so that machines aren't scattered around on a forum like this.

The repo that takes over from buzzmachines.com:
http://buzz.robotplanet.dk/
Yes, please add them to buzz.robotplanet.dk
Klangkulisse wrote: Bigyo, as you pointed out while introducing ParamEQLin, the filter length could be set longer. I am wondering for what reason I would do this? The longer the filtertime gets, the higher is the resulting latency. I use it with the shortest filter length 5 ms and - I know nothing about liner phase porgramming requirements - why isn`t there a zero filter length. O. k., 5 ms is very short, but it does something audible when using it only on one generator that plays along with a generator without a ParamEQLin.
Make sure you have enabled MachineDelayCompensation in buzz settings, so latency isn't a problem anymore.
Low frequency equalization requires long filter lengths. If it's 5ms then it won't work for frequencies lower than 200 Hz.

Re: ParamEQLin

Posted: Fri Dec 23, 2016 9:07 pm
by AndersBrontosaurus
Sweetness!
I know basically nothing about filtering but once I realized that you can put in several tracks and add filters on top of each others you can get some nice sounds with this! Think I just found my go-to filter.

A By-passswitch would be awesome too.

Re: ParamEQLin

Posted: Wed Dec 28, 2016 7:50 pm
by Joachip
I've uploaded them.
They sound great btw!

Also, a lot of you people out there might be wondering "what's this all about?"

I'll skip the long tech babble and give you an example. As you'll probably discover, the difference is small, but it's there. It's the kind of difference that may seem invisible to the untrained ear, but mastering engineers and pro studio sound engineers and such will know the difference (I tested this on a friend earlier today, and he could tell).

So without further ado, here's an example: First a normal EQ and then a "linear-phase" EQ on the same piece of audio:

http://www.robotplanet.dk/files/audiode ... se_eq.flac

Re: ParamEQLin

Posted: Sat Jan 07, 2017 2:57 am
by commadore65
My tracks always have a sea of ParamEQs in so this is great! :)

Re: ParamEQLin

Posted: Mon Jan 09, 2017 9:43 pm
by Joachip
I did find a few oddities though:

When you open the machine, the graphical UI opens, but it stays open when you close the machine again.

Also, I wonder if it would be possible to have it start up with more than one bands added by default? Perhaps 2 or 3?

Re: ParamEQLin

Posted: Wed Jan 11, 2017 11:18 am
by polac
When you open the machine, the graphical UI opens, but it stays open when you close the machine again.
Seems to work here for me, UI closes if you delete the machine.

Re: ParamEQLin

Posted: Thu Jan 12, 2017 5:46 pm
by bigyo
i think Joachip meant that the graphical UI stays open when you close the parameter window, but i don't know how to close it automatically with paramerer window.

as for default number of tracks (bands) there is a callback

Code: Select all

virtual void SetNumTracks(CMachine *pmac, int n);		// bonus trivia question: why is calling this SetNumberOfTracks not a good idea?
so why is calling this SetNumberOfTracks not a good idea?

second way is to increase minTracks to 3 or 4 but then it's not possible to have it with less tracks.

Re: ParamEQLin

Posted: Wed Jan 18, 2017 11:26 pm
by AndersBrontosaurus
No chance for a By-pass?

Re: ParamEQLin

Posted: Thu Jan 19, 2017 10:35 am
by polac
but i don't know how to close it automatically with paramerer window.
I don't think that's possible.
second way is to increase minTracks to 3 or 4 but then it's not possible to have it with less tracks
In pvst i have a setting for mintracks in preferences. It changes mintracks always at loader startup.. You could save the mintracks setting in registry for example.

Re: ParamEQLin

Posted: Thu Jan 19, 2017 1:16 pm
by IXix
polac wrote:
but i don't know how to close it automatically with paramerer window.
I don't think that's possible.
Probably too late but if you had a WPF GUI you could have the display integrated into the parameter window.

Re: ParamEQLin

Posted: Thu Jan 19, 2017 10:08 pm
by bigyo
AndersBrontosaurus wrote:No chance for a By-pass?
adding bypass parameter will make old songs incompatible with the new machine, but there is built-in bypass in right-click machine menu.

Re: ParamEQLin

Posted: Thu Jan 19, 2017 11:31 pm
by AndersBrontosaurus
IXix wrote: Probably too late but if you had a WPF GUI you could have the display integrated into the parameter window.
Would be great, but unfortunately I don't have the skills to pull off such a stunt either.
bigyo wrote:adding bypass parameter will make old songs incompatible with the new machine, but there is built-in bypass in right-click machine menu.
I thought so but was kinda hoping for a little button in the gui. :-) Great that there is a built in one though. That'll work!

Re: ParamEQLin

Posted: Wed Feb 15, 2017 9:24 pm
by bigyo
updated, increased minTracks to 4.

Re: ParamEQLin

Posted: Sat Feb 18, 2017 2:39 pm
by Klangkulisse
Thank you – it is my standard EQ ;)