Page 1 of 1

Timeline

Posted: Sun May 10, 2020 8:25 am
by wde
Did some experiments with showing timeline in sequencer view. Hopefully this is helpful (@HerrFornit).

The time stamps should be correct if you don't change BPM or TPB during the song playback. This means that any kind of groove machine will make the time stamps inaccurate.

Colors can't be changed from code so enjoy colorful timeline!

Machine and source code below.
TimeLine.zip
(5.87 KiB) Downloaded 319 times
TimeLine_src.zip
(2.52 KiB) Downloaded 293 times


<dev stuff>

I did try to make the code more intelligent by scanning through sequences to find "Master" to see if TPB or BPM is changed. However this seems to return always empty list:

Code: Select all

pat.Columns[2].GetEvents(int tbegin, int tend)
Maybe bug, maybe I call it wrong.

Anyways the proper way to add time line would of course to add it to the new sequencer view:
Timeline.png
Timeline.png (39.01 KiB) Viewed 7928 times


If someone wants to improve their coding skills, the way forward would be to compile a custom BuzzGUI.SequenceEditor.dll by downloading the source and applying the logic there. Happy hacking!

Re: Timeline

Posted: Sun May 10, 2020 12:15 pm
by magmavander
Infinite thanks :dance:

Re: Timeline

Posted: Sun May 10, 2020 2:19 pm
by thOke
:dance: :!: :dance:

Re: Timeline

Posted: Sun May 10, 2020 7:34 pm
by HerrFornit
oh yes! Finally we get a timeline in buzz! :dance: Very helpful indeed.
I totally agree, the better timeline would be beneath the tick-line. But for the next 10 years your machine is great. ;)

Thanks a lot!

Re: Timeline

Posted: Sun May 10, 2020 8:14 pm
by HerrFornit
You probably did limit the lower tick range to 32 due to the little display space for time numbers?
In the highest zoom level in sequence view, you can easily see all numbers with 16 ticks. (for 8 ticks you can see at least the seconds, would also be better than nothing ;) )
TimeLine16.jpg
TimeLine16.jpg (8.92 KiB) Viewed 7879 times
Does it consider breaks (changes in time signature)? After pressing "update" it closes the gap. Perhaps a new start after the break cpuld help to "synchronize" the blocks.
TimeLineBreak.jpg
TimeLineBreak.jpg (22.87 KiB) Viewed 7876 times

Re: Timeline

Posted: Sun May 10, 2020 10:21 pm
by Candle
Love it :)

Feature request: A way to specify the timecode format used (examples: SMPTE, HH:MM:SS:MS, MM:SS:MS (Default), etc…). Perhaps selectble in Machine Attributes? With my background in Video Production, I seem to relate best to SMPTE timecode. But I'm sure other people prefer other formats.

Great work on this very useful machine!

See You In The Shadows…

Re: Timeline

Posted: Mon May 11, 2020 7:39 am
by HerrFornit
Candle wrote: Sun May 10, 2020 10:21 pm Feature request: A way to specify the timecode format used (examples: SMPTE, HH:MM:SS:MS, MM:SS:MS (Default), etc…). Perhaps selectble in Machine Attributes? With my background in Video Production, I seem to relate best to SMPTE timecode. But I'm sure other people prefer other formats.
yes. Audacity uses M:SS,MS number of displayed digits are dependent of zoom factor. Is that dependency possible in TimeLine, too?
Buzz itself uses only one digit for MS, spares space.

Re: Timeline

Posted: Mon May 11, 2020 3:27 pm
by Candle
You can change the timecode in Audacity, HerrFornit. There's a bunch of formats to choose from. I have my copy of Audacity set for SMPTE - i.e. HH:MM:SS.FF (frames) - again, because I'm used to it & I'm sometimes processing audio for video projects I'm working on.

See You In The Shadows…

Re: Timeline

Posted: Thu May 21, 2020 10:21 pm
by rav
Is it supposed to be working just like that or it does require some trick?

Double clicking/putting patterns in sequencer seems to be working as always:
test.gif
test.gif (52.63 KiB) Viewed 7618 times

Re: Timeline

Posted: Sat May 23, 2020 7:25 am
by HerrFornit
Candle wrote: Mon May 11, 2020 3:27 pm You can change the timecode in Audacity, HerrFornit. There's a bunch of formats to choose from. I have my copy of Audacity set for SMPTE - i.e. HH:MM:SS.FF (frames) - again, because I'm used to it & I'm sometimes processing audio for video projects I'm working on.
Yes, thank you. With the new version 2.4.1 even in scalable big numbers!
rav wrote: Thu May 21, 2020 10:21 pm
Is it supposed to be working just like that or it does require some trick?
Double clicking/putting patterns in sequencer seems to be working as always:
test.gif
Did you press "update" in the machine GUI after inserting patterns into sequence?

Re: Timeline

Posted: Sat May 23, 2020 11:06 am
by rav
ok - now its clear that something is missing here :P
test2.gif
test2.gif (19.31 KiB) Viewed 7564 times
clicking on it doesn't work either. maybe missing libs here?

Re: Timeline

Posted: Sun May 24, 2020 7:52 am
by HerrFornit
rav wrote: Sat May 23, 2020 11:06 am ok - now its clear that something is missing here :P
test2.gif
clicking on it doesn't work either. maybe missing libs here?
yeah. looks here like this. Different OS/Buzz version? Here Win10x64 and Buzz1503x86
TimeLine Update.jpg
TimeLine Update.jpg (6.79 KiB) Viewed 7522 times

Re: Timeline

Posted: Sun May 24, 2020 5:04 pm
by tinga
HerrFornit wrote: Sun May 24, 2020 7:52 am yeah. looks here like this. Different OS/Buzz version? Here Win10x64 and Buzz1503x86
Its a theme issue, if I select default theme, update disappears.
Great tool.Lovely colour effect.