Modern Sequence Editor

River Cricket
Posts: 136
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2014 6:53 am

Re: Modern Sequence Editor

Post by River Cricket »

Incredible. I'm sorry for the belated thank you, but I've honestly been so engrossed with MSE and EB that I've plumb done gone went and forgot my manners - seriously!

Re: Shading, is it possible for the shading to also affect the pattern coloring, or would that run into issues similar to how the blinking cursor can mess with EnvBlock?

(Glancing at the source, and keeping in mind that I'm an idiot who doesn't know what he's talking about, I'm guessing that this would be unfeasible, as the background is just a static layer on top of which the "pattern" blocks are dropped - but maybe it's possible to have an "alpha channel" layer on top of everything at 50% transparency that alternates between completely-null/see-through and RGB #000000 or whatever?)
Press ctrl and place mouse cursor to top/bottom of pattern box. Change snap length from settings. Haven't tested much though ;)
Seems to be working every bit as incredibly as it did in my imagination! Seriously, this alone turns EnvBlock into an absolute workflow powerhouse!

It does get a little glitchy when dragging all the way to the bottom of the screen / outside the confines of the MSE window - ideally, it would scroll the view down when you went off-screen, but if that's unfeasible, then maybe it should just snap to the closest visible "snap target".

wde
Posts: 283
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2012 9:28 am

Re: Modern Sequence Editor

Post by wde »

No more feature requests! :D
River Cricket wrote:
Sat May 15, 2021 6:55 pm
Re: Shading, is it possible for the shading to also affect the pattern coloring, or would that run into issues similar to how the blinking cursor can mess with EnvBlock?
Now you can draw that stuff on top of sequences (settings). BTW you can theme these by editing SequenceEditor.xaml:

Code: Select all

  <SolidColorBrush x:Key="SeqEdBackgroundMarkerLineBrush" Color="#55000000" po:Freeze="True"/>
  <SolidColorBrush x:Key="SeqEdBackgroundMarkerRectBrush" Color="#1a000000" po:Freeze="True"/>
River Cricket wrote:
Sat May 15, 2021 6:55 pm
It does get a little glitchy when dragging all the way to the bottom of the screen / outside the confines of the MSE window - ideally, it would scroll the view down when you went off-screen, but if that's unfeasible, then maybe it should just snap to the closest visible "snap target".
Auto-scroll should work now.

River Cricket
Posts: 136
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2014 6:53 am

Re: Modern Sequence Editor

Post by River Cricket »

No more feature requests! :D
Haha, I'm really, truly sorry :oops: I know I've been Mr. Feature Request, and I really, really appreciate all the additions you've made on my behalf. Sorry to be a leech.

(But you will add that purple unicorn I requested in PM, right? You quite clearly said "no more feature requests", not "no more unicorn requests"...)

The current version (and the previous version too) has a bug in ParameterWindow mode where pressing F6 within MSE will spit up an "Object reference not set to instance of object" error. Works fine in Interface mode.

I'm not much of a coder but I know enough to at least not ask completely-terrible questions, sometimes, occasionally. This should be a fixed version with F6 working in ParameterWindow mode as well. Version changed to 1.2.7a, everything else in the diff should just relate to the ParameterWindow F6 fix.
Attachments
ModernSequenceEditor_src (fixed).zip
(199.1 KiB) Downloaded 67 times

wde
Posts: 283
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2012 9:28 am

Re: Modern Sequence Editor

Post by wde »

River Cricket wrote:
Sun May 16, 2021 6:07 pm
The current version (and the previous version too) has a bug in ParameterWindow mode where pressing F6 within MSE will spit up an "Object reference not set to instance of object" error. Works fine in Interface mode.
Thanks. Should be fixed now.

wde
Posts: 283
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2012 9:28 am

Re: Modern Sequence Editor

Post by wde »

1.3.0 aka "Windows 11 Certified"

Few usability improvements:
  • Default new pattern length (settings)
  • Quick Create Patterns (menu), ctrl pressed will insert
  • Rename machine (menu)
  • Ctrl + mouse wheel zooms
  • Fixes

rav
Posts: 136
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 3:35 pm

Re: Modern Sequence Editor

Post by rav »

Thank you for the updates :)

I have found some things to look at:
Modern sequencer:
1. Zoom to max, then click somewhere on the pattern panel. Some glitch in sequence length comes in, but it is only in max zoom situation i think. Now i see it''is related to zoom with 'Ctrl' only.
2. Tempo change doesn't recalculate grid resolution. Creating automation with snapping could be problematic.
3. Shortcut for move track left and right is described as ctrl+up and ctrl+down.
4. In integrated mode (F4), in second window (ctrl+w). You can't play from selected position (F6), it plays only from position selected in integrated panel. Also, when second window is overlapping buzz itself, then there are some glitches while changing pattern columns. It looks like its changing focus from one window to another with high speed.
5. Sometimes it's hard to edit pattern length with 'Ctrl'. A little bigger 'box' to grab could be better.
Audio Block:
1. Can't edit first point of volume automation after tempo changes in vertical position (and actually its glitchy all the time). In horizontal mode it works better, but also with some quirks. It can be locked, when moved max up.
2. Tempo change doesn't recalculate grid resolution. Creating automation with snapping could be problematic.
3. Max value for volume in 0db mode is -1 and for +6db is +5. dB is signed as bB.
4. Is it possible to invert this zoom in/out with ctrl+mouse wheel (maybe optionally)? I know it's in the machine from the beginning, but zooming in with mouse wheel out is a little bit awkward.
Envelope Block:
1. Sometimes it's hard to edit first and last point in automation. A little bigger 'box' to grab could be better.
2. Deleting automation points with 'Shift' key is causing pop up error window.

wde wrote:
Thu Oct 07, 2021 2:17 pm
  • Quick Create Patterns (menu), ctrl pressed will insert
I don't know if i misunderstanding it, but it inserting created patterns all the time, with or without pressed 'Ctrl'.
wde wrote:
Fri Feb 05, 2021 4:53 pm
  • This is fun: click and hold drags a sequence event. Click and hold then Ctrl clones a sequence event.
Maybe i am stupid or something, but i don't know how to do this operations in sequencer. Also i think i know, that in the option now it's 'Alt' instead 'Ctrl'.

Post Reply