new pvst beta (updated 27-Dec-2020)

River Cricket
Posts: 102
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2014 6:53 am

Re: new pvst beta (updated 2-Jul-2020)

Post by River Cricket »

Two issues:

1. When using Polac WDM Kernel Streaming, I'm unable to access all four input channels of my audio interface.

I can select 1+2 or 3+4 in the View > Preferences > Config, but obviously I can't use this to select all four channels at once. :(

2. Polac ASIO works as expected, but I'm getting some really nasty latency when controlling external hardware (about 7000 samples or so at 96k - this doesn't change at different buffer settings, but does change in response to changing the sample rate, so 192k is ~3500 samples of lag, 48k is 14000). Using external hardware to control VSTs is fine, it's only outbound where Polac ASIO seems to hitch up. This might be a recent PVST issue, because I've used Buzz to sequence external gear on projects in the recent-distant past (2018ish) and didn't notice any trouble then. Still on the same computer/OS/interface as then.

Also a question: I know external devices shift around because of the way Windows assigns USB device IDs, but is there some way to make Polac VST (used for controlling external gear) as "intelligent" as Polac MIDI In? Polac MIDI In does occasionally require re-selecting the MIDI device, but it's a simple matter. When Polac VST gets scrambled, however, I've found that selecting device "x" will really be device "y" (because "x" is just a label pointing to device ID "n", and now device ID "n" is device "y"). The only way to get everything lined up properly again is a rescan in Global 2, which for me takes about five minutes and can occasionally crash.

River Cricket
Posts: 102
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2014 6:53 am

Re: new pvst beta (updated 2-Jul-2020)

Post by River Cricket »

I've resolved issue #2, insofar as I remembered how the "MIDI device" drop-down works. ASIO is still laggier than WDM, but at least I can compensate for that lag.

Issue #1 is still a bit of a thorn in my side, though, since WDM seems to be working out better for me in most other regards, but only being able to use two input channels is a real downer! Polac ASIO allows access to all four channels, and I can get all four channels in other programs using WDM_KS, so I'm hoping this is maybe just a legacy oversight or something :P

River Cricket
Posts: 102
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2014 6:53 am

Re: new pvst beta (updated 2-Jul-2020)

Post by River Cricket »

rav wrote:
Wed Nov 04, 2020 2:06 am
Everything shows, that MIDI Send from VST3 is not working. I have tested 2 free plugins which are working in other DAW. Could someone confirm?
VST3 absolutely sucks for MIDI. Steinberg (who sets the VST2/VST3 standard) has a bug up their butt and is on some weird mission to prove that, actually, VST is for audio, not (wrinkle those noses up nice and tight, folks) ...MIDI... (ugh!), and people using VST to send/receive/relay/manipulate MIDI events are wrong. Basically, the DAW is supposed to convert MIDI to VST-ese, feed that to the plugin, and if the plugin outputs VST-ese, convert that to whatever the DAW's standard is for flinging notes and events around. The problem is that different DAWs do things differently, so it's possible (afaik) to have the exact same MIDI sequence routed in the exact same way result in completely different final songs depending on your DAW and how it handles the precise timing of notes and CCs.

The tl;dr (and I think polac can probably elaborate better than me) is that VST3 is fine for instruments and effects 99% of the time, but really not at the point where it can be reliably used for "peer instruments", which means that, yes, the corporate-funded cutting-edge of the mainstream industry is currently at the level Buzz was at... fifteen? Twenty? years ago. :shock:

I'm not sure if dealing with VST3's inanities is something polac can do completely alone or if it requires Oskari to get involved.

Anyway, for what it's worth, I can confirm it's currently not possible to MIDI send from VST3s in Buzz (though VST3s can receive MIDI). Your best bet is to install the VST2 version of whatever plugin you're using.

rav
Posts: 132
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 3:35 pm

Re: new pvst beta (updated 2-Jul-2020)

Post by rav »

Well, the problem is that there is no other version than VST3. Plugin is called Stochas and there is also a statement about VST version on site:
Why is there no VST2 plugin
Due to Steinberg’s licensing terms, we cannot provide binaries using the VST2 plugin format. As such, only VST3 is available. If you’d like to have a VST2 plugin and have access to the VST2 SDK you can build your own by defining VST2_PATH to point to your SDK when building.
Unfortunately there is gross trend in not making VST2 plugins anymore just like dropping support(=not releasing) for x86 plugins versions.

Stochas is very interesting and complex sequencer with probability, chaining, some polyrhythmic functions, humanization and swing per step... i think that checking VST3 issues in polac adapter just for this plugin is worth it. Or maybe someone can build VST2 version, beacause there are sources for download?

User avatar
tinga
Posts: 518
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 5:25 pm

Re: new pvst beta (updated 2-Jul-2020)

Post by tinga »

rav wrote:
Sun Dec 13, 2020 10:04 pm
Or maybe someone can build VST2 version, beacause there are sources for download?
I have a vst2 version, but Stochas is not Magic, Magic is designed for Buzz and has a better ergonomic, and many more options, same thing for Snowglobe's machines, anyway if you want it...

River Cricket
Posts: 102
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2014 6:53 am

Re: new pvst beta (updated 2-Jul-2020)

Post by River Cricket »

tinga wrote:
Mon Dec 14, 2020 1:09 pm
rav wrote:
Sun Dec 13, 2020 10:04 pm
Or maybe someone can build VST2 version, beacause there are sources for download?
I have a vst2 version, but Stochas is not Magic, Magic is designed for Buzz and has a better ergonomic, and many more options, same thing for Snowglobe's machines, anyway if you want it...
The worst part about Stochas is having to click-drag everything in order to set low/medium/high frequency... though to be fair, setting notes in Scalewalker also involves click-dragging.

I also have a vst2 of Stochas - can't find a version number, but seem to have installed it in August of this year, not sure if that's more/less recent than what you've got.

rav
Posts: 132
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 3:35 pm

Re: new pvst beta (updated 2-Jul-2020)

Post by rav »

tinga wrote:
Mon Dec 14, 2020 1:09 pm
rav wrote:
Sun Dec 13, 2020 10:04 pm
Or maybe someone can build VST2 version, beacause there are sources for download?
I have a vst2 version, but Stochas is not Magic, Magic is designed for Buzz and has a better ergonomic, and many more options, same thing for Snowglobe's machines, anyway if you want it...
Yes, please - I would like to try it a little bit more :)
Yeah, IX Magic, snowglobe ScaleWalker, wde machines, patternXP mod - this is why iam still Buzzing!

polac
Posts: 333
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 9:19 am
Contact:

Re: new pvst beta (updated 27-Dec-2020)

Post by polac »

Bump for update.

User avatar
Joachip
Posts: 328
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 7:21 pm
Contact:

Re: new pvst beta (updated 27-Dec-2020)

Post by Joachip »

I'm continuing my wrongly titled thread in here, as it seems relevant. The problem with loading a bmx and some VSTs not recalling their parameter states correctly seems to be well known across different DAWs.

Here are some horribly crappy "solutions" which includes a race condition:
https://forum.juce.com/t/cubase-calling ... n/21637/14

But it hints at something: That it matters in which order these various calls are made.

User avatar
HerrFornit
Posts: 330
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 12:27 pm
Location: Steinberg UR12, AKG 702, Old Hi-Fi, A-49, PC: Xeon 1230v3 8GB, Win10x64pro, Buzz 1503x86
Contact:

Re: new pvst beta (updated 27-Dec-2020)

Post by HerrFornit »

Hi polac,

thanx for the new version. It solved the x64GUI bug here. I have noticed that "since" installing this new version the "TT Tischmeyer dynamic range meter" I often use for levelling (to Jeskola AUX Send) does not work correctly (No metering in the GUI). It is 32bit. version. Strange, that this happens not in all songs. (I use a 64 bit VST in this song) When I check the option in the edit menu of PVST "run in separate process" it works. Perhaps its related to the new PVST version?
TT.jpg
TT.jpg (55.36 KiB) Viewed 598 times

River Cricket
Posts: 102
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2014 6:53 am

Re: new pvst beta (updated 27-Dec-2020)

Post by River Cricket »

Here's a picture of what I'm talking about with WDM vs ASIO, and how the resulting Polac Audio In machines look in a project.
Attachments
polac asio vs polac wdm.png
polac asio vs polac wdm.png (58.55 KiB) Viewed 456 times

User avatar
Buzztler
Posts: 198
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2012 2:54 pm
Location: Faraway but near enough

Re: new pvst beta (updated 27-Dec-2020)

Post by Buzztler »

As always I'm the guy who complains about the fact that the version number has not been updated inside the polac-loaders. It still shows Version number 34 and not 35 As it should be now.
Perhaps you find the time to update the version number in the near Future?
This would bei fine.
Keep up the good work, 'cause Buzz needs the superb VST-loader. Bleib gesund!

Post Reply