Redirecting saved VST's to new VST path

Post Reply
User avatar
wauterboi
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2011 8:17 am

Redirecting saved VST's to new VST path

Post by wauterboi »

Hello! I've got a bit of a problem.

I've reorganized my VST folder so that everything is nice and tidy and in a completely different folder scheme. Instead of all .dll files being in the root VST folder, all VST's are put in separate folders named after the developers. For instance: "VST/de la Mancha/subatomic.dll" vs. "VST/subatomic.dll".

Now, the problem with this is that starting up Buzz and loading an old song file prompts an error message stating "Sorry, plugin is missing... <file path> '<VST name>'".

The obvious solution would be to right click on all offending machines and reload them with the proper VST, however all parameters are lost and this method is incredibly slow. Is there any other way to fix this?
polac
Posts: 415
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 9:19 am
Contact:

Re: Redirecting saved VST's to new VST path

Post by polac »

Odd, it should find the plugins after your reorganizing, tested here and it works. Did you add the new vst folder in the loader preferences?
User avatar
wauterboi
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2011 8:17 am

Re: Redirecting saved VST's to new VST path

Post by wauterboi »

Yes sir!

Image
Image

Image
Image

Image

It seems like it loads a lot of plugins fine, but not those. I'm on Windows 10 btw.

EDIT: Figured it out. It's a discrepancy between x64 and x32. If a song is saved with x32 VST plugins, even if the x32 VST plugin doesn't exist, it won't fall-back to loading the x64 plugin.
polac
Posts: 415
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 9:19 am
Contact:

Re: Redirecting saved VST's to new VST path

Post by polac »

I could open an open dialog where you can select the missing plugin by hand.
polac
Posts: 415
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 9:19 am
Contact:

Re: Redirecting saved VST's to new VST path

Post by polac »

EDIT: Figured it out. It's a discrepancy between x64 and x32. If a song is saved with x32 VST plugins, even if the x32 VST plugin doesn't exist, it won't fall-back to loading the x64 plugin.
Yes that doesn't work yet, but I have it implemented now. It will work if the plugins share both the same unique identifier. Also the open dialog stuff for selecting by hand is implemented now.
User avatar
IXix
Posts: 1113
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 3:24 pm

Re: Redirecting saved VST's to new VST path

Post by IXix »

polac wrote:
EDIT: Figured it out. It's a discrepancy between x64 and x32. If a song is saved with x32 VST plugins, even if the x32 VST plugin doesn't exist, it won't fall-back to loading the x64 plugin.
Yes that doesn't work yet, but I have it implemented now. It will work if the plugins share both the same unique identifier. Also the open dialog stuff for selecting by hand is implemented now.
Sorry for necro posting but am I correct in saying PVST should load the x64 version of a missing x32 VST automatically if the plugin ID is the same, and if not it should prompt you to locate the dll?

Loading a song saved with x32 VSTs, none of them load automatically (but that may just be the ID thing) so I locate the x64 version in the dialog that pops up. After the song has finished loading however, double-clicking the VST machines just displays the open dialog and if I then select the x64 version again it loads the plugin but with the default settings.

Setting up a new system should be a happy time but oh boy it sucks! :lol:

edit: Should say that this is in 32bit Buzz. 64bit Buzz loads the VSTs fine but then there are compatibility problems with all the native Buzz machines. :(
polac
Posts: 415
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 9:19 am
Contact:

Re: Redirecting saved VST's to new VST path

Post by polac »

Checking the code, there might be still a bug, I'll try to fix it.
polac
Posts: 415
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 9:19 am
Contact:

Re: Redirecting saved VST's to new VST path

Post by polac »

I think I found the bug. However no warranty that the fxb/fxp data is compatible on load. The same uniqueid is no warranty. Will update the loader package the next days after some testing.
User avatar
IXix
Posts: 1113
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 3:24 pm

Re: Redirecting saved VST's to new VST path

Post by IXix »

polac wrote:I think I found the bug. However no warranty that the fxb/fxp data is compatible on load. The same uniqueid is no warranty. Will update the loader package the next days after some testing.
Thanks polac! Good point about data compatibility. Will it crash Buzz if the data is different or would the loader catch it and just crash that machine?
User avatar
HerrFornit
Posts: 435
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 12:27 pm
Location: Dortmund
Contact:

Re: Redirecting saved VST's to new VST path

Post by HerrFornit »

Hey polac, when you are going into the code, if it is not to much work, could you please change the display length oft the path in plugin information (full path?)?

Many thanx !! :D
PluginInformation.jpg
PluginInformation.jpg (24.16 KiB) Viewed 7826 times
polac
Posts: 415
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 9:19 am
Contact:

Re: Redirecting saved VST's to new VST path

Post by polac »

Thanks polac! Good point about data compatibility. Will it crash Buzz if the data is different or would the loader catch it and just crash that machine?
I'm not sure. Firstly it checks the id of the fxb/fxp, if it doesn't fit to the vst the loading is aborted. If it's a chunkbased fxb it could load wrong data, if it's parameterbased fxb it's no problem.
polac
Posts: 415
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 9:19 am
Contact:

Re: Redirecting saved VST's to new VST path

Post by polac »

Hey polac, when you are going into the code, if it is not to much work, could you please change the display length oft the path in plugin information (full path?)?
You still can resize the rightmost column in the topright, then scroll to the right.
User avatar
IXix
Posts: 1113
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 3:24 pm

Re: Redirecting saved VST's to new VST path

Post by IXix »

polac wrote:I'm not sure. Firstly it checks the id of the fxb/fxp, if it doesn't fit to the vst the loading is aborted. If it's a chunkbased fxb it could load wrong data, if it's parameterbased fxb it's no problem.
So it probably depends on the individual VSTs. Not to worry, it's amazing it works at all! Much respect for the apparently seamless 32/64 bridging. You rok! :ugeek:
User avatar
HerrFornit
Posts: 435
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 12:27 pm
Location: Dortmund
Contact:

Re: Redirecting saved VST's to new VST path

Post by HerrFornit »

polac wrote:
Hey polac, when you are going into the code, if it is not to much work, could you please change the display length oft the path in plugin information (full path?)?
You still can resize the rightmost column in the topright, then scroll to the right.
o jesus, yes ! :oops:
to simple for me :lol:
thanx!!
polac
Posts: 415
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 9:19 am
Contact:

Re: Redirecting saved VST's to new VST path

Post by polac »

Well there could be also non-resizable list view columns, but these are resizable. :mrgreen:
User avatar
IXix
Posts: 1113
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 3:24 pm

Re: Redirecting saved VST's to new VST path

Post by IXix »

polac wrote: Sat Jan 04, 2020 11:24 am I think I found the bug. However no warranty that the fxb/fxp data is compatible on load. The same uniqueid is no warranty. Will update the loader package the next days after some testing.
Sorry to keep pestering Polac but are you any closer to releasing this fix? The wait is killing me! :lol:
polac
Posts: 415
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 9:19 am
Contact:

Re: Redirecting saved VST's to new VST path

Post by polac »

It's ready, i only have to upload it, i'm lazy sorry. :mrgreen:
User avatar
IXix
Posts: 1113
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 3:24 pm

Re: Redirecting saved VST's to new VST path

Post by IXix »

polac wrote: Sun Mar 22, 2020 3:53 pm It's ready, i only have to upload it, i'm lazy sorry. :mrgreen:
Don't tease!
Post Reply