Timeline

Post Reply
wde
Posts: 147
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2012 9:28 am

Timeline

Post by wde »

Did some experiments with showing timeline in sequencer view. Hopefully this is helpful (@HerrFornit).

The time stamps should be correct if you don't change BPM or TPB during the song playback. This means that any kind of groove machine will make the time stamps inaccurate.

Colors can't be changed from code so enjoy colorful timeline!

Machine and source code below.
TimeLine.zip
(5.87 KiB) Downloaded 26 times
TimeLine_src.zip
(2.52 KiB) Downloaded 16 times


<dev stuff>

I did try to make the code more intelligent by scanning through sequences to find "Master" to see if TPB or BPM is changed. However this seems to return always empty list:

Code: Select all

pat.Columns[2].GetEvents(int tbegin, int tend)
Maybe bug, maybe I call it wrong.

Anyways the proper way to add time line would of course to add it to the new sequencer view:
Timeline.png
Timeline.png (39.01 KiB) Viewed 674 times


If someone wants to improve their coding skills, the way forward would be to compile a custom BuzzGUI.SequenceEditor.dll by downloading the source and applying the logic there. Happy hacking!

User avatar
magmavander
Posts: 580
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 5:22 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Timeline

Post by magmavander »

Infinite thanks :dance:

User avatar
thOke
Posts: 314
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 7:14 am

Re: Timeline

Post by thOke »

:dance: :!: :dance:

User avatar
HerrFornit
Posts: 245
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 12:27 pm
Location: Steinberg UR12, AKG 702, Old Hi-Fi, A-49, PC: Xeon 1230v3 8GB, Win10x64pro, Buzz 1503x86
Contact:

Re: Timeline

Post by HerrFornit »

oh yes! Finally we get a timeline in buzz! :dance: Very helpful indeed.
I totally agree, the better timeline would be beneath the tick-line. But for the next 10 years your machine is great. ;)

Thanks a lot!

User avatar
HerrFornit
Posts: 245
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 12:27 pm
Location: Steinberg UR12, AKG 702, Old Hi-Fi, A-49, PC: Xeon 1230v3 8GB, Win10x64pro, Buzz 1503x86
Contact:

Re: Timeline

Post by HerrFornit »

You probably did limit the lower tick range to 32 due to the little display space for time numbers?
In the highest zoom level in sequence view, you can easily see all numbers with 16 ticks. (for 8 ticks you can see at least the seconds, would also be better than nothing ;) )
TimeLine16.jpg
TimeLine16.jpg (8.92 KiB) Viewed 625 times
Does it consider breaks (changes in time signature)? After pressing "update" it closes the gap. Perhaps a new start after the break cpuld help to "synchronize" the blocks.
TimeLineBreak.jpg
TimeLineBreak.jpg (22.87 KiB) Viewed 622 times

User avatar
Candle
Posts: 181
Joined: Sun Apr 23, 2017 1:03 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Timeline

Post by Candle »

Love it :)

Feature request: A way to specify the timecode format used (examples: SMPTE, HH:MM:SS:MS, MM:SS:MS (Default), etc…). Perhaps selectble in Machine Attributes? With my background in Video Production, I seem to relate best to SMPTE timecode. But I'm sure other people prefer other formats.

Great work on this very useful machine!

See You In The Shadows…

User avatar
HerrFornit
Posts: 245
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 12:27 pm
Location: Steinberg UR12, AKG 702, Old Hi-Fi, A-49, PC: Xeon 1230v3 8GB, Win10x64pro, Buzz 1503x86
Contact:

Re: Timeline

Post by HerrFornit »

Candle wrote:
Sun May 10, 2020 10:21 pm
Feature request: A way to specify the timecode format used (examples: SMPTE, HH:MM:SS:MS, MM:SS:MS (Default), etc…). Perhaps selectble in Machine Attributes? With my background in Video Production, I seem to relate best to SMPTE timecode. But I'm sure other people prefer other formats.
yes. Audacity uses M:SS,MS number of displayed digits are dependent of zoom factor. Is that dependency possible in TimeLine, too?
Buzz itself uses only one digit for MS, spares space.

User avatar
Candle
Posts: 181
Joined: Sun Apr 23, 2017 1:03 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Timeline

Post by Candle »

You can change the timecode in Audacity, HerrFornit. There's a bunch of formats to choose from. I have my copy of Audacity set for SMPTE - i.e. HH:MM:SS.FF (frames) - again, because I'm used to it & I'm sometimes processing audio for video projects I'm working on.

See You In The Shadows…

rav
Posts: 90
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 3:35 pm

Re: Timeline

Post by rav »

Is it supposed to be working just like that or it does require some trick?

Double clicking/putting patterns in sequencer seems to be working as always:
test.gif
test.gif (52.63 KiB) Viewed 364 times

User avatar
HerrFornit
Posts: 245
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 12:27 pm
Location: Steinberg UR12, AKG 702, Old Hi-Fi, A-49, PC: Xeon 1230v3 8GB, Win10x64pro, Buzz 1503x86
Contact:

Re: Timeline

Post by HerrFornit »

Candle wrote:
Mon May 11, 2020 3:27 pm
You can change the timecode in Audacity, HerrFornit. There's a bunch of formats to choose from. I have my copy of Audacity set for SMPTE - i.e. HH:MM:SS.FF (frames) - again, because I'm used to it & I'm sometimes processing audio for video projects I'm working on.
Yes, thank you. With the new version 2.4.1 even in scalable big numbers!
rav wrote:
Thu May 21, 2020 10:21 pm

Is it supposed to be working just like that or it does require some trick?
Double clicking/putting patterns in sequencer seems to be working as always:
test.gif
Did you press "update" in the machine GUI after inserting patterns into sequence?

rav
Posts: 90
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 3:35 pm

Re: Timeline

Post by rav »

ok - now its clear that something is missing here :P
test2.gif
test2.gif (19.31 KiB) Viewed 310 times
clicking on it doesn't work either. maybe missing libs here?

User avatar
HerrFornit
Posts: 245
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 12:27 pm
Location: Steinberg UR12, AKG 702, Old Hi-Fi, A-49, PC: Xeon 1230v3 8GB, Win10x64pro, Buzz 1503x86
Contact:

Re: Timeline

Post by HerrFornit »

rav wrote:
Sat May 23, 2020 11:06 am
ok - now its clear that something is missing here :P
test2.gif
clicking on it doesn't work either. maybe missing libs here?
yeah. looks here like this. Different OS/Buzz version? Here Win10x64 and Buzz1503x86
TimeLine Update.jpg
TimeLine Update.jpg (6.79 KiB) Viewed 268 times

User avatar
tinga
Posts: 490
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 5:25 pm

Re: Timeline

Post by tinga »

HerrFornit wrote:
Sun May 24, 2020 7:52 am
yeah. looks here like this. Different OS/Buzz version? Here Win10x64 and Buzz1503x86
Its a theme issue, if I select default theme, update disappears.
Great tool.Lovely colour effect.

Post Reply