Can we draw automations?

vaisnava
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 11:44 pm

Can we draw automations?

Post by vaisnava »

I know how to make them with hex, but I am curious if Buzz may ever grow to the point where we can draw in automations like Pan/Volume, assignable stuff, etc into the Sequence editor?

I believe Jeskola Sine Synth has something like this...

mes
Posts: 76
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 5:37 am

Re: Can we draw automations?

Post by mes »

agreed, this is the one thing keeping buzz from being my main host.

User avatar
thOke
Posts: 317
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 7:14 am

Re: Can we draw automations?

Post by thOke »

with pattern xp it's already possible

Image

mes
Posts: 76
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 5:37 am

Re: Can we draw automations?

Post by mes »

yes the ctrl+g thing is very nice, but I really wish we had some kind of modern automation with nodes you can drag, similar to the volume and pitch envelopes in the wavetable.. or what most daws and renoise have.This one feature would make the already amazing buzz the most powerful eletronic music software ever, in my opinion. I'm actually very suprised that with all the amazing and strange things people have developed for buzz that something like this hasn't been attempted ( I'm no programmer, but it seems like the code for this kind of automation would already be there in the wavetable area?)...the closest I've seen was BTDSys PeerScream, but it doesn't work with pattern xp?

vaisnava
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 11:44 pm

Re: Can we draw automations?

Post by vaisnava »

Yes it would be nice on the sequencer... not the pattern. ;) Lines, nodes, curves, etc.

User avatar
strobotone
Posts: 297
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 2:59 pm
Location: berlin
Contact:

Re: Can we draw automations?

Post by strobotone »

we had a pretty evolved discussion going on on buzzchurch about it and came up with some good ideas.
i always dreamed of being able to use an automation spline mode in the vertical sequencer.
and yes, machines can display graphic content in the sequencer.

commadore65
Posts: 83
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 7:49 pm

Re: Can we draw automations?

Post by commadore65 »

You are probably aware of this already however there is a dedicated machine BTD made prior to ctrl+g was added. It works in the same way, so I'm afraid you won't get envs and nodes, however you can zoom in and out, allowing for one to edit long patterns on the same screen. Here's a link if you're interested - http://btdsys.lazytrap.com/remository?f ... info&id=39

If there is command to zoom in and out of the pattern edit already in new builds this will be irrelevant, I don't know of a way on the build I'm using currently.

beuze
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 9:11 am

Re: Can we draw automations?

Post by beuze »

I regret Peer Scream for a long time, I had read that an user recommended kazuya Graph-64, but it is not the same thing. This graphic column is very good and I find that it deserves a picture (thanks thOke!) in the Buzzwiki to draw attention of those who do not like the hex too much.
With CTRL+mouse gestures (left for 0,right for 1), it is very quick for trigger machines as Sample Grid.

User avatar
Evelon
Posts: 147
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 11:00 pm

Re: Can we draw automations?

Post by Evelon »

PeerScream is indeed awesome (shift lmb draw line, release lmb, draw bezier). Would be nice to have it built-in somehow. Edit: or at least have an option to turn it on and off.

http://btdsys.lazytrap.com/remository?f ... info&id=39
Last edited by Evelon on Thu Jan 26, 2012 3:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Rakib
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 1:16 am

Re: Can we draw automations?

Post by Rakib »

Anyone tried Buze?
It looks like it has a more advanced functions for automation.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=pl ... Xp3szpQc3I#!

User avatar
bahador
Posts: 118
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 11:07 pm
Contact:

Re: Can we draw automations?

Post by bahador »

In better word that would be such an incredible idea if we could have a sequence editor (horizontally) like the ones in pro-tools, logic or reason which they all share the very same basics and the automation process with dots and nodes would be available as a built in feature then.

Rakib
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2012 1:16 am

Re: Can we draw automations?

Post by Rakib »

No, vertically. Buzz is a tracker.

If you want pianoroll, this not the software for you.

User avatar
strobotone
Posts: 297
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 2:59 pm
Location: berlin
Contact:

Re: Can we draw automations?

Post by strobotone »

Rakib wrote:Anyone tried Buze?
It looks like it has a more advanced functions for automation.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=pl ... Xp3szpQc3I#!
yes. it got pretty good.
you can use a sequencer machine that actually acts as the actual vertical sequencer.
then you can use "graphical" automation like BUZZ´s CTRL-G in the sequencer.

btw. it is pretty much compatible with BUZZ´s native plugins due to its wrapper library.

mute
Posts: 382
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 8:30 pm

Re: Can we draw automations?

Post by mute »

bahador wrote:In better word that would be such an incredible idea if we could have a sequence editor (horizontally) like the ones in pro-tools, logic or reason which they all share the very same basics and the automation process with dots and nodes would be available as a built in feature then.
https://support.image-line.com/jshop/shop.php
http://www.experimentalscene.com/softwa ... ve-studio/
http://www.energy-xt.com/index.php?id=0401
https://www.ableton.com/shop/categories/full
http://www.propellerheads.se/products/r ... rade_paths
http://www.steinberg.net/en/shop.html
http://www.apple.com/mac/app-store/
http://shop.avid.com/store/product.do;? ... 7273768544
http://www.store.cakewalk.com/b2cus/Pro ... HB1.00-20E
http://studioone.presonus.com/shop/

User avatar
UNZ
Posts: 742
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 9:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Can we draw automations?

Post by UNZ »

i'm sure we'll get envs sooner or later, it's pretty clear that everyone wants it, someone just has to do it, so just be patient....

User avatar
bahador
Posts: 118
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 11:07 pm
Contact:

Re: Can we draw automations?

Post by bahador »

we already have the horizontal sequencer in the pattern editor MUTE, right?

mute
Posts: 382
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 8:30 pm

Re: Can we draw automations?

Post by mute »

Unfortunately

beuze
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2012 9:11 am

Re: Can we draw automations?

Post by beuze »

bahador wrote :
In better word that would be such an incredible idea if we could have a sequence editor (horizontally) like the ones in pro-tools, logic or reason which they all share the very same basics and the automation process with dots and nodes would be available as a built in feature then.
BUZZ and the DAWs are two different worlds. You can work with Linux and Windows as dualboot ( or wine, etc...) but not simultaneously.(Although I'm very happy with the horizontal sequencer ;))
Personally I hate nodes and curves and, for me, draw the curves in the pattern editor is sufficient (and it is easy, fast and powerful).

domtron
Posts: 87
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2011 5:18 pm

Re: Can we draw automations?

Post by domtron »

switching to both views would be practical.

i wonder if this isn't already implemented to create them via wpf and framework.

User avatar
strobotone
Posts: 297
Joined: Wed Nov 23, 2011 2:59 pm
Location: berlin
Contact:

Re: Can we draw automations?

Post by strobotone »

domtron wrote:switching to both views would be practical.

i wonder if this isn't already implemented to create them via wpf and framework.
i am wondering myself:
viewtopic.php?f=3&t=27&p=188&hilit=horizontal#p188

Post Reply